The More Talented, Better Looking Me

I always knew there must be a more talented and better looking me if only I could find him. Now I have: meet Tim Fall. (He’s not me, but you should go watch the video; it’s a short and interesting look at the TV show audition process.)

Actually, I already knew there was an actor named Tim Fall, with his own IMDB page and everything. I bet there have been a bunch of people with my name but this one looks to be in my generation and frankly I love his personal quote on his IMDB bio page: “I’m really an actor just waiting for my big break as a waiter.”

This article was going to be about how I don’t need to be more talented or better looking by the world’s standards, because God looks at the heart and not outward appearances. (1 Samuel 16:7.) Then I realized that Tim’s personal quote is much more worthy of discussion.

How many of us are hoping to succeed, waiting for our ship to come in, or just wondering when we’ll finally grow up? I think I’ve discovered, though, that what I should really be waiting for is my big break as a waiter.

You see, Jesus said that being a servant is awesome. In God’s kingdom, servant-hood is the mark of true success. No one gets to the top by striving for the top. Instead, it’s by serving that you really make it in God’s kingdom:

Sitting down, Jesus called the Twelve and said, “Anyone who wants to be first must be the very last, and the servant of all.” (Mark 9:35.)

And again:

Jesus called them together and said, “You know that those who are regarded as rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their high officials exercise authority over them. Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be slave of all. For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” (Mark 10:42-45.)

So now I’m waiting for my big break as a waiter. Truth be told, Jesus has already given me that break. And I get to serve in his kingdom forever.

I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God … (Psalm 84:10.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The More Talented, Better Looking Me

  1. michellevl says:

    I used to tell people that I wasn’t longing to hear the words “Well done, good and faithful servant; enter into my rest” when I at last stood before the Lord. I simply wanted to hear the words, “You can stay”. (My own version of Ps. 84:10.)

    As I read your post, it occurred to me once again that we will all be surprised by just how true Jesus’ call to humility is when we meet him face to face. Those who’ve lived outside the world’s limelight will be heaven’s “celebrities” (though the term fails here – the only “celebrity” will be God), and those who have the world’s fame may be heaven’s doorkeepers.

    I think the other Tim Fall is on to something. :)

  2. Tim says:

    Michelle, your comment reminds me of that scene in The Great Divorce where C.S. Lewis sees a woman being celebrated as she enters heaven, but he has no idea who she is. Lewis’s guide explains, “Her name on earth was Sarah Smith and she lived at Golders Green.” This description is another way of saying that she is no one that any of us would have heard of. Yet Jesus clearly says that she is exactly the type of person who would be feted in heaven, because of her faithful service to those in her life on earth.

    • Aimee Byrd says:

      I write about Sarah Smith in my book :)
      Tim, I loved this article, and your line:
      “Then I realized that Tim’s personal quote is much more worthy of discussion.”
      did make me laugh out loud. Thanks for serving me in that way today!

  3. Mary Anne says:

    Good luck on that “when will I grow up” thing. I thought by this time I’d feel grown up, and how do I feel? Like a 52-year-old kid . . . in my mind, of course. My body has other ideas.

    Somewhere C.S. Lewis also talks about King Lear and that awful scene where Gloucester is blinded by Regan and Cornwall—a servant tries to interfere and is killed by Regan for attempting it. But he tried to do right, to intervene, and Lewis points out that there are all these royal and powerful people in the play, full of plans, thinking they can bend everything to their will . . . but of all the people in the play, it would be best to have done as that nameless servant did.

    • Tim says:

      Great connection, MA. The worth of a nameless servant. Wonderful to contemplate.

      Tim

      P.S. About the growing-older-but-not-up thing, have you heard the Jimmy Buffet lyric on that? He captures it perfectly.

  4. No way. All this time I thought you were the other guy.
    :)

    • Tim says:

      Ha! He and I emailed a bit this morning. I thought it only fair to let him know I existed and was writing about him today. Apparently he’d run into my name on the web too (judges tend to get written about occasionally), so I’m not as much a surprise to him as I thought I would be.

  5. Jeannie says:

    So would that make him your dopplegoogle? Or your googleganger? Or just some guy with the same name? :-) His sense of humour shows he has a good attitude to life, anyway.

  6. I remember years ago my pastor preached a whole series (for a month or longer) on Philippians 2, in which he talked about Jesus’ life of “downward mobility” (it was in the 80s, when everyone was talking about being upwardly mobile, or being a yuppie (young upwardly mobile professional). Jesus humbled himself, taking the form of a servant, who was obedient. The series messed with me (I was a yuppie at the time). This whole servanthood, downward mobility thing is both the good news and the bad news of the Christian life. Great post.

    • Tim says:

      Sounds like a great series, Keri. I’d have been a yuppie too if I hadn’t spent all those years in school. By the time I spent six years on a BA and then went to law school no one was called a yuppie any longer!

      Now I’m just an old guy.

  7. Timothy FALL says:

    Tim and Readers:
    I was of course flattered to have Tim spend a few moments endowing my little joke from a few years ago with a deeper, more contemplative layer of meaning. Thanks! You have obviously developed a thoughtful spiritual community here, and I hope it continues to thrive. Nice to exchange a few messages — maybe next we’ll find out that we share some old monocle-wearing, whiskered uncle, making us some degree or other of cousin.

    • Tim says:

      Hey, I could grow whiskers and start wearing a monocle if you like!

      Thanks for stopping by Tim, and for being such a good sport about the article here.

  8. laruspress says:

    I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of the LORD… I love that text. Today I heard a song by Vince Gill and Amy Grant – Threaten Me with Heaven. Again the message: what a wonderful blessing to be in heaven and to worship the Creator of the Universe. I often forget but you remind me again, to look at this moment, today, not where we’d like to be or what we hope to achieve, but look at today and know we serve – and will serve – a mighty and loving God.

Talk to me (or don't)

