I am the 1%: Why a Man Reads a Women’s Blog

[Anne Bogel, aka Modern Mrs. Darcy, invited me to write about my tendency to read and comment at blogs written by women. As tempted as I was to reply “Hey someone’s got to bring a Y chromosome to the party!”, I instead wrote the following.]

***

Years ago in law school, before I met my wife, I sat down with some classmates in one of the study lounges. They looked at me and said, “Tim, you know that this is a meeting of the Women’s Law Student Society, don’t you?”

It appeared I was the only male present. “Women Law Students?” I asked. “Well, I do have an interest in the subject matter.”

They laughed and let me stay.

Nowadays people sometimes mention that I seem to show up a lot at blogs written by and for women. Those are not always the same thing, of course. And I don’t frequent such blogs exclusively. But I do frequent such blogs, it’s true.

Anne asked if I could talk about why. Here goes.

[Click here to read the rest. Then click around Anne’s place for a real treat.]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I am the 1%: Why a Man Reads a Women’s Blog

  1. Adam Shields says:

    I find a lot of women’s blogs just talk about different things than men’s blogs. In my mind a conversation is more interesting if you don’t always agree about everything all the time.

  2. You’re so funny. I’m heading over the Anne’s blog now…

  3. Laura says:

    Thanks Tim for reading women’s blogs! As you know, I have strong views on the role of women in ministry. And something I emphasize is that both men and women together reflect the image of God. If we want a true reflection of God, we need the perspective of both sexes. More men need to seek the perspective of women, and vice versa too. But I think it is men, perhaps, that need to make more of an effort to do this – since leadership of evangelical churches tends to be almost exclusively male, women in the church setting are already getting a male perspective as they sit under male preachers, pastors, and elders. But men need to make a more concerted effort to seek the perspective of women.

    Well, I’ve gone off on a bit of a tangent, but thanks for reading the blog’s of women Tim – like mine. Interestingly, I find I have more male readers/commentators than women! My blog doesn’t seem to interest that many women.

    • Tim says:

      Not a tangent at all, Laura. You’ve hit precisely on the things I was trying to get across. It’s funny how your blog seems to get more male commenters (and I feel very privileged to count myself one of them!), and mine seems to get more women. I think it’s a sign that neither you nor I are writing for a particular crowd, but just writing as we think God is leading us.

  4. Jaimie says:

    As a woman, I appreciate that you read women’s blogs! I don’t know the genders of all my readers, but I know at least a couple of men read my blog, and I like to think what I write (when I write it) is of value to both genders. On that note, if you’d ever like to guest post on my blog, I would love to have you!

    • Tim says:

      Jaimie, to me that’s a sign of a blog I like to visit: value to both women and men. And thank you for the offer. I will click around at your place to see what you’ve been up to and whether there is any way I can contribute.

  5. Pingback: Jesus Never Hit A Woman – Guest Post | bronwyn's corner

  6. Pingback: Jesus Never Hit A Woman | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

Talk to me (or don't)

