Jesus Doesn’t Run Over Kittens

A long line of cars followed as I turned off the freeway. I imagine many of the drivers were, like me, just wanting to get home after a day at work. Turning left, there wasn’t much time for the cars to space out the distance between them before the next intersection and it’s red light.

A few yards from the limit line the light turned green and I took my foot off the brake pedal. Then I put it back on. Hard. The huge pick-up truck in my rearview mirror, hauling a trailer full of landscaping equipment, looked like it might not stop in time to avoid smashing into my bumper. I braced for impact.

The driver of the pick-up truck and the drivers of all the cars lined up behind him couldn’t see what I saw. If they had, I don’t know if they’d have refrained from honking their horns at me or not. But I’m glad that’s all any of us had to endure, just some horn honking. No one ran into anyone’s bumper.

What caused me to stop suddenly at an intersection with a green light? One of these:

The Telegraph

Like this little guy, only smaller and cuter
(The Telegraph)

In the middle of this:

Not quite as busy as this (National Geographic

Not quite as busy as this
(National Geographic)

The kitten came from the median to my left and ran in front of me. I braked and lost sight of it as it disappeared squarely under my front bumper.

While I waited for the impact coming from the truck behind me I started planning how to jump out and get the kitten from under my car. I didn’t know whether I could do it without someone running me over, and I didn’t know how to do it without spooking the kitten back into traffic.

As I was about to shove the gearstick into park and reach for the door handle I looked to my right. There was the kitten, scurrying to the sidewalk and into the shrubs bordering an office park.

I took my foot off the brake and drove on. The whole thing lasted about 10 seconds. I don’t know what the people behind me were thinking.

I think some people in Galilee a couple thousand years ago might have had a similar experience.

***

“Watch it! You stepped on my foot.”

“Sorry. Why’d you stop?”

“Everybody stopped. Don’t know what’s going on.”

“Maybe it’s because of that woman who just went by. She didn’t look too good, but she was moving pretty fast for a sick woman. Maybe she wanted to get close to him. Can you see him?”

“He’s up there.”

“Did you hear that?”

“What?”

“He asked who touched him. Everybody’s touching everybody in this crowd.”

“It’s the woman.”

“The sick woman? What does she want? Doesn’t she know he’s going to Jairus’ house?”

“I don’t think she stopped him. It’s more like he stopped for her.”

“What’s he saying now?”

“Something about her having faith and being healed. And being his ‘daughter’? She’s old enough to be his mother.”

“She looks better now, anyway.”

“Lots better. Well, she’s gone. Looks like he’s going on to see Jairus’ daughter. Hope he can do something for that poor little girl.”

***

While Jesus was still speaking, some people came from the house of Jairus, the synagogue leader. “Your daughter is dead,” they said. “Why bother the teacher anymore?”

Overhearing what they said, Jesus told him, “Don’t be afraid; just believe.”

He took her by the hand and said to her, “Talitha koum!” (which means “Little girl, I say to you, get up!”). Immediately the girl stood up and began to walk around (she was twelve years old). At this they were completely astonished. (Mark 5:35-36, 41-42.)

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Jesus Doesn’t Run Over Kittens

  1. Bev Murrill says:

    LOvely! I would have stopped too!

  2. Bronwyn Lea says:

    We did the story of the sick woman and jairus at vbc and, in telling the story to 1st graders, I found myself in tears as I lay on the floor pretending to be jairus begging for his daughters life. I felt a little silly in front of 30 kids, but the group leaders got it. They knew, in that moment, what it would have meant to have Jesus stop for you in your need. Such a great story, Tim.

    • Tim says:

      Another thing that struck me as I read it this time is how Jairus is concerned for his daughter (understandably so) and yet in the middle of it all Jesus cares for this sick woman he calls daughter. It shows that when God cares for us it’s him caring for his children.

  3. janehinrichs says:

    Tim, First, you are fantastic at headlines! And your telling of the Bible stories is very very good — great to compare them to the kitten story. Thanks.

  4. EricaM says:

    Aww, I always brake for small animals. Probably because I lost too many cats that way when we lived near a highway.

    Also, this was my Scripture reading this morning! Coincidence? I think not!

  5. Jeannie says:

    I like your point in the comment above: “when God cares for us, it’s him caring for his children.” If one of my kids is sick, everything else takes 2nd place and I rush to their side to comfort and help them. And Jesus’ heart of compassion is so much greater — how could he not care and try to help when a hurting person is so close by. Thanks for highlighting this today, Tim.

    • Tim says:

      How could Jesus not care – that’s one of the things I love about his character, Jeannie. There is no indifference in Christ.

  6. Brian says:

    Beautiful post Tim,Jesus has done a nice
    job on your heart

  7. Nancy Van Wyck says:

    It is hard not to protect the animals, but never get out of the car to help an animal because while they have made it to the other side you could be hurt badly. They seem to know what to do.

  8. Ruth says:

    Very lovely and apt post Tim, your kind heart is so obvious! My dad, 85, had a bad fall recently, and his church has rallied brilliantly to help us care for him. Yes, he will be fine, made of tough stuff!
    This blog reminds me that Christ looked after the woman, the child, and thr stricken mother all at once, and He has certainly looked after dad who can be very difficult, but kind hearted, and his church shows true acceptance and love to an old man who causes ructions rather often!
    He’s not very kitten like, but the rescue is the same, and the kitten picture got an aww from me, so cute.
    I would pray every church community, like mine and his could show Christ in action as well as these do, I didn’t say wish mind you….you are quite an influence on my thinking and considerations. :)

    • Tim says:

      I am so glad your father is recovering well, and that you and he and the family are blessed by the church coming alongside him as he heals, Ruth.

      “I don’t say wish mind you …” – and there you go making me laugh first thing in the morning!

Talk to me (or don't)

