Don’t You Dare Tell Me You’re Too Old

My Dad last-minute subbed for Sunday School last weekend.

He taught on Ruth – from memory.

There were twelve kids, ages 5-6.

My Dad is 90 years old.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Don’t You Dare Tell Me You’re Too Old

  1. Jeannie says:

    That’s great, Tim. I’m sure the little ones got a lot out of it and I’m sure your dad did too. I guess if a thousand years is like a day to God, He doesn’t consider anyone too old. (At 90 Abraham still hadn’t had Isaac yet!)

  2. lauradroege says:

    My daughter read your headline and commented, “I wonder if that’s what Mrs. Smith said!” Mrs. Smith is the development director at her private school. At 76, she led a week long field trip to Washington DC and Williamsburg, and was beating the socks off all the 5th graders (and their parents) in her energy levels! Apparently she also leads an annual trip of 7th graders to Dauphin Island for their science class, and I’m sure “Sarge Marge” (her nickname) keeps up with them, too.

    Honestly, I wish more older people felt this way. So many people reach a certain age, and they “retire” from serving in church to pursue other interests, or even just sit around doing nothing productive. Not all do this: your father being an obvious example. Caleb in the Bible is another example. (80 years old, and he can still fight the enemy. Love that.) But far too many do, and it’s bad for them and their mental and physical health, IMO.

    • Tim says:

      I remember a pastor once telling me how he was speaking at a conference and one of the people attending was a 92 year old. The pastor asked why he was there and the guy said, “I’m here to learn, man, I’m here to learn!”

  3. janehinrichs says:

    I love your dad’s example!! Wow! I pray I will never see myself as “retired” from God’s work. I am sure it is a temptation for many once they get to a certain age.

  4. I love this, Tim! What an extraordinary father you have. It seems to me that we need more like him, as cliche as that sounds.

  5. Mary Anne says:

    He’s a braver man than I am, Gunga Tim! ;-)

  6. Ken Hood says:

    Needed this right now. Very timely. You are one of the few blogs I follow consistently (sorted to my gmail “primary” tab and not the “social” tab I look at only occasionally. I am not always in agreement (that’s usually a focus or emphasis disagreement, not doctrinal)… but I read every post. Thank you.

  7. Adriana says:

    Oh Tim, I love this post so much. :-)

  8. Nancy Van Wyck says:

    What a great example he is, I will try to remember that when my thoughts tell me its time for a young person to take over. God Bless him. Thanks for shareing.

  9. Ruth says:

    Tim, your dad sounds wonderful! Found my dad, 85, was climbing onto the roof to fix tiles…asked if that was safe, woops, reply was.. I’ve been climbing ladders all my life, and I know how to do it safely. Still has his heavy vehicle license, but not sure who still wants him to drive buses as he did for church for many years!
    I’m back to relief teaching at last, at a youthful 60, and loving it, (as Maxwell Smart would say!), still
    laughing at the year 8 and 9 girls who admired my eye make- up. Must say it was a bit of a boost to wondering if I was getting past it!
    Hope your dad continues for many years to teach and nag at you…that’s what dads are for. :)

Talk to me (or don't)

