Donkey Kong and Girl Power!

Funny Encouragement Ecard: I'm not looking for a hero. I am one!

I’ve never been a Donkey Kong fan, opting instead for those green plastic guys known as Army Men. But I am a fan of one dad who customized Donkey Kong for his toddler:

Mike Mika’s 3 1/2 -year-old daughter Ellis loves playing “Donkey Kong.” She’s been playing it with her dad since she was 2 years old. But last week she decided she wanted to play the game a little bit differently. She wanted to play as Pauline … and she wanted Pauline to rescue Mario.

Mike designs games for a living, so he decided to redesign Donkey Kong. Instead of Mario saving Pauline, Pauline now saves Mario. Ellis gets to role play, and she gets to do it in the role of a girl saving the day.

Saving the Day

It’s a game kids play all the time. I know I did. I wanted to be a hero. Sometimes I’d get caught up in the fantasy of being stronger, faster, and just plain better at things than anyone else. Other times I’d think that if there were only a way for me to rescue someone, then I’d be famous, popular even.

At what age did I outgrow this? Still waiting.

We do have an hero, though, one who literally has come to save the world. (John 3:17.) He did it when we were helpless to save ourselves. (Romans 5:8.) And he did it by giving everything he had for us. (Mark 10:45.) In the battle for creation, salvation and all that is holy, Jesus won. (Revelation 19.)

So on second thought, I think I’d rather be the one rescued.

Jesus has already saved the day.

***

Questions to ponder: Do you try to be the rescuer? When is that most likely to happen?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Donkey Kong and Girl Power!

  1. Adriana says:

    I guess I grew up thinking of myself as a rescuer. I’m the first born of four and oldest of twenty cousins, so from very early on I learned to mother and help kids out of scrapes. When I was 30yrs old I went through a series of events that changed the way I viewed myself. I realized that sometimes I need to be rescued and nurtured too.

    Love these passages you have shared about Jesus our Rescuer.

    • Tim says:

      I’d say the realization that you need help ranks as one of the best when it comes to understanding the love of Christ, Adriana. What a blessing.

  2. Aimee Byrd says:

    Yes, I think our biggest obstacle is our inability to see ourselves as the ones who need rescuing.

  3. My friend recently came over for dinner (she’s an unbeliever) and asked my older son who his favorite super hero was. He said, “Jesus!” She was taken back by this because most little boys tend to be into the fantasy-based superheroes. I smiled and was proud of his boldness.
    Great entry!!!
    I really enjoyed it.

  4. Jeannie says:

    Thanks for this post, Tim. I’ve had those fantasies too of wanting to do something heroic and be famous and praised. So far the opportunity hasn’t presented itself! I agree with the comments above about how we may prefer to play the role of rescuer, not rescued. Maybe if we really looked at Jesus as our example of Rescuer, we’d realize there is a long road of humility that comes first. I’m so thankful Jesus was willing and obedient to do everything it took — even die — so we could be rescued.

    On the side, I can’t resist adding this link that shows a very heroic little “rescuer.” I wish I were more like this little fellow: patient, supportive, looking out for the other guy.

    • Tim says:

      I saw that video linked on your blog, Jeannie, and loved it so much I tweeted it immediately!

    • This is absolutely Awesome! That word is over-used but it applies here.. the tenacity of BOTH kids, and the rest of the players getting ‘in’ on the situation – even the goalie ‘got it’ and let the puck pass. This is true teammanship – just what the body of Christ needs. As to heroes, each of us is a hero from time to time, and each needs rescuing. I shudder to think where/what I’d be today if I hadn’t been rescued by God’s grace.

  5. Kathleen says:

    Have been participating in an op ed piece in a newspaper of evolution v creation. The dialogue has been nasty at times as one side (guess which) professes that the Bible is a tool to control people’s behavior. I ended one conversation stating that Jesus didn’t come to control us He came to free us. The response was free us from what? It is very hard to share the Good News when the world doesn’t even know it needs being rescued. Thanks, Tim for this! And thanks Jeannie for the video clip. Watched it with my son (who grew up being told: choose to be the good guy, good guys ALWAYS win in the end)… we both loved it!

  6. Tim says:

    “It is very hard to share the Good News when the world doesn’t even know it needs being rescued.” And it’s certainly hard for people to pay attention to something they don’t even know is important!

  7. Pingback: Here I Come to Save the Day!* | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

Talk to me (or don't)

