How Much is a Million Thousand Billion Kajillion?

We had Messionary Me’s four kids with us last weekend – ages 2, 5, 8 and 11 – from Friday afternoon to Sunday afternoon. What did Messionary Me do without her kids around? You’ll have to wait for her to write about her weekend. I’m going to tell you about her kids’ weekend.

Friday evening they were playing in the other room while we boiled up the spaghetti, cut up the fruit, laid out the table. Well, my wife was doing most of that, I was following her directions, and our 22-year-old son was looking at the paper. From the other room we heard, “It’s a million thousand billion kajillion!”

My son, without looking up from the paper, called out, “That’s not a real number.”

We found out the next day that it is too a real number.

Parades, Bugs and Buses

Our local university has an open house the third Saturday of every April, Picnic Day. It’s a big deal, with a parade and events and food and displays and horses and fun, fun stuff. So since last Saturday was Picnic Day, we took our houseguest kids to school. The university has its own bus system that runs all over town, and they had a special schedule on Picnic Day to bring people onto campus without requiring them to drive in and try to find a parking space among the thousands of people doing the same. We started the day by catching one of the big red buses and being driven into the heart of campus.

I carried the youngest aboard the bus and heard her murmur, “I don’t like that.” The bus. She didn’t like the bus. But she allowed me to carry her along to a seat next to her brother and sisters; she soon caught their excitement, and by the time we arrived she liked it plenty.

Once on campus, we found perfect spots at the start of the parade route. Bands and horses and floats and balloons passed along for the next 45 minutes, with many of the paraders endearing themselves to our young friends by handing out candy as they went by. One piece each, and save the rest for later. OK, two pieces, but no more. Three pieces, but really, that’s it. Hmm, perhaps it was four each. The parade mercifully ended without the need of a trip to the dentist.

We next went to the catwalk, which isn’t really about cats walking. Instead, it’s a room full of cats that we walked by. These were rescue cats that the university’s vet school had been treating, and there were a number up for adoption. How we got out of there without a kitten under each arm is beyond me.

Then there were the frisbee dog competitions, the cockroach races, and a trip out to the school’s equestrian center. Yes, this university has its own equestrian center. You get there by riding another bus out past the aging dairy barn and brand new football stadium. This one was a double-decker bus. Could we stay on the bottom level to ride out there? Not a chance. So up I went with the older three while my wife and son stayed below with the stroller and 2-year-old. And after checking out the horses, we rode the upper deck back into the center of campus.

Then we caught a bus home and this time my son had the 2-year-old in his arms, where she promptly fell asleep.

How fun was that day?

A million thousand billion kajillion fun.

Even More Than That

A million thousand billion kajillion turns out to be a real number after all. At least it sure describes how much fun you can have with a houseful of great kids. But even that much fun doesn’t reach the amount of love God gives us in his grace, an amount that Paul describes this way:

I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. (Ephesians 3:16-21.)

Wide, long, high and deep love.

A love that surpasses knowledge.

With all the fullness of God.

Immeasurably more than our asking or imagination.

Throughout all generations without end.

I get the impression that this is more than a million thousand billion kajillion, immeasurably more.

And that’s a real number too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How Much is a Million Thousand Billion Kajillion?

  1. Jeannie says:

    I have 2 comments about this post:
    1. Funnest. Day. Ever.
    2. You and your wife must be such a blessing to the young families in your church and community!

  2. Your post made me tear up … not just because I can completely imagine my kids loving every minute of that day with you, but because you guys taking them blessed me and Man Of The House a million thousand billion kajillion. You are proof of the size of God’s love: It’s so big, it spills over and through all those who are close to Him. I have every intention of writing my own post about that glorious weekend; as soon as I free myself from my million thousand billion kajillion mommy duties. It is DEFINITELY a real number. (Funny, though how much more joyfully I am handling those tasks after a weekend of freedom!)

    • Tim says:

      Great, I made you cry. Not quite the ministry to young moms I hoped for!

      We are so glad you two had such a wonderful weekend together. Looking forward to Sunday’s baptism for the oldest kidling.

      • Ha! It’s a rare thing that the tears in my house are happy tears. Those kind are always welcome! The tears happening right now — from a 2-year-old who is not being allowed to have chocolate chips for breakfast — are slightly less enjoyable. But I can’t blame you for those. Those are because I’m the meanest mom in the WHOLE WORLD. 🙂

        • Tim says:

          As a friend explained to me a couple decades ago when her kids were tantruming over her refusal to let them do something, MOM stands for Mean Old Mom.

          If you put them together as MOM & DAD, I think they stand for Mean Old Mom & Don’t Ask Dad.

          Tim

          P.S. Chocolate chips for breakfast? I wonder where she got that idea. We just opened a two pound box of See’s and tossed it onto the table for their breakfast over the weekend. After they polished that off, we gave them each a Costco sized jar of nutella and a spoon.

        • Mary Anne says:

          *snort* Yeah, my boss was talking one day about his kids giving him a hard time because he wouldn’t allow them to do something, and I asked him, “How often do you make a decision like this and your kids say, ‘Hey, great parenting decision, Dad!’ ” He grinned and said, “That would be NEVER.” Sounds about right.

          Hmmm, chocolate chips for breakfast—perhaps if I put them inside a cinnamon roll or a muffin . . .

          (Not being a parent, I don’t have to make Great Parenting Decisions. Keeping ME out of trouble is a full-time job.) 😉

  3. Aimee Byrd says:

    I know that Costco sized jar of Nutella all too well! My daughter needs an intervention and we put extra thick layers on my son’s bread b/c he needs the calories 🙂
    I enjoyed reading about your weekend! And it is wonderful to think of Christ’s immeasurable love in this way.

  4. ‘Children’s ministry’ is a blessing ( I lead kid’s worship at my church ) and a gift (taking 4 little kids on an outing must be tough ( I’ve got 1 child ) and FUN! Glad you were blessed. Bet the kids were too – maybe even in a million thousand billion kajillion ways!

  5. Pingback: Sunday Funnies – Google Oddities 3 | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

Talk to me (or don't)

