Lava Lamps, Lightning and the Comfort of God

When I was a kid, my grandparents had one of these on top of their television.

Groovy

Groovy

The lava lamp turned 50 yesterday. According to this article the inventor originally named it the Astro Lamp when marketing it in England in 1963. Lava Lamp probably made more sense, though, as the 60s moved along and a generation of flower children started becoming consumers in a post space-age economy. Tune in, turn on, drop out, Baby! Got my Lava Lamp and tie-dyed shirt and granny glasses, and now life is outasite.

Electrified by God’s Light Show

We flew home night before last after a weekend of moving our daughter into her new apartment. The sky was covered with clouds and we had a few raindrops on the drive home from the airport. As my wife and I sat down to eat dinner in the gathering twilight, there was one little lightning flash way off in the distance and many seconds later I heard a faint rumble. Then there was another lightning flash, and the thunder rumbled a few seconds sooner.

More lightning soon came, with raindrops starting to fall. And then it poured and the lightning came bright and the thunder came loud and the storm passed directly overhead, until at one point the lightning and thunder came together – flash crash, flash crash!

Lightning

This is kind of how it looked out our back door. (Click on the picture for a taste of awesome power.)

After twenty minutes of intense rain and thunder and lightning, the storm passed along to  the east. We couldn’t stop talking about how incredible it was. That type of power is truly remarkable in every sense of the word. Remarkable.

It reminds me of God’s comfort. Yes comfort.

When God delivered David from his enemies, David wrote:

In my distress I called to the Lord; I called out to my God. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came to his ears. The earth trembled and quaked, the foundations of the heavens shook … . He made darkness his canopy around him — the dark rain clouds of the sky. Out of the brightness of his presence bolts of lightning blazed forth. The Lord thundered from heaven; the voice of the Most High resounded. …

He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters. He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me. They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the Lord was my support. He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me. (2 Samuel 22:7-8, 12-14, 17-20.)

God brought David into “a spacious place”, a place of peace and not of turmoil. David saw God’s thunderous power and he took comfort in it because he knew that God delighted in him.

If you are in Christ, God delights in you also. You need never fear his power, but can instead take comfort in it just as David did. God is for you, and nothing will ever change that.

What comfort there is in the powerful majesty of God.

***

When has God’s power brought you comfort?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lava Lamps, Lightning and the Comfort of God

  1. michellevl says:

    Boy, did I need this reminder this morning. Thank you.

  2. I have always enjoyed the sounds that accompany a storm. There is nothing like standing on a mountintop during the midst of a storm surrounded by nothing but trees to experience the awesomeness of God.

    I have been struck by my own smallness while standing on the sand watching a storm brew in the atalntic offshore. Yet it has been in the darkest times of my life such as losing my ability to hear the love of my life that just standing on my porch has brought me great comfort as the storms brewed because as you said Tim it is an almighty God who we have been given the pleasure of worshipping and who calls us his beloved.

    Now that’s a comfort.

    As far as the lava lamp reminds me of one my favorite instrumental groups Tangerine Dream who most have probably never heard of. Yet goes with that psychedelic flavor. It’s the surfer in me what can I say.

  3. Jeannie says:

    I just love this post and the passage you quoted. God’s power is so awesome — HE is so awesome — yet He reaches down and takes hold of us. Nothing that happens to us escapes His notice. I’m so thankful you shared this today.

  4. Aimee Byrd says:

    I love watching thunderstorms…and lava lamps.

  5. I had a beautiful lava lamp for a good 15+ years and it finally broke in our last move. I was kinda bummed out because it was one of those metal plated ones with little light “stars” on the bottom frame where the bulb was, and it was a dark purple lava. I don’t know how my parents found it when I was about 8 but it was my favorite Christmas present. I later got a cheap-o one for Rob’s room when we were dating which broke much faster and was the generic type.

    Great capture of the lightning that you mentioned! I love how you turned something frightening into something beautiful: God’s comfort. How wonderful to think of it in that way.

    Sorry I am so behind in your blog entries. I noticed I have 30 more after this to catch up in. I haven’t been on the net barely at all these days and even deleted my twitter, but I’ll read these soon!!! :: nods ::

    • Tim says:

      That Lava Lamp you had sounds so cool. I’m really bummed it got broken in that move. It’s hard to become attached to things and I know we’re supposed to be able to let things go and not try to hold on to them. but that lamp was special to you. I’m glad you remember it so fondly though. But it broke … bummer!

      (Don’t worry about catching up or anything, Victoria. I’m not keeping track!)

      • Actually, I am extremely unsentimental. Rob was even saying the other day how he wants to sell his wedding band which was his great-grandmother’s and just get a tattoo band instead or wear the $10 pre-engagement sterling silver band we got together. . . and then he remembered his dad is sentimental and would get mad at him for that. I was all, “Go for it.” when he suggested it. Stuff is stuff and doesn’t last or matter, and if it does, then I’d question if it is a possible idol then.

Talk to me (or don't)

