Smashing Household Idols – a review of Aimee Byrd’s Housewife Theologian

Everyone is a theologian. Some are horrible theologians and some are quite good, but everyone – whether they are a person of faith or not – is a theologian. “I believe in God” and “I don’t believe in God” are both theological statements. It would be nice to have some help in being good at theology.

Aimee Byrd* wrote that book.

That’s not Aimee on the cover, but if you want to see her talk about the book you can watch this video.

The back cover of Housewife Theologian claims the book is written “for all women who want to explore beneath the superficial and get to know God, and themselves, better.”

That’s only half-true.

This book, whether Aimee meant it or not, is written so that men can know God, and themselves while they’re at it, better too.

Although we may have an option when it comes to other vocations, our primary calling in every area of life is as theologians. (Housewife Theologian, p. 12.)

The book is written by a woman who describes herself as a housewife, but it is not written solely for other women who call themselves housewives. Yes the first nine chapters use the housewife motif when discussing who God is and how we are to live in him, but the final three chapters are unadorned theology.

In every chapter I found gems of theological thought. Aimee looks to Scripture and great Christian thinkers to guide her in covering life in all its aspects. Thought, creation, work, sex, and more are explored in the light of God.

Creation – Beauty is not something that we acquire over others. It is something we share with others in an appropriate way. (P. 45.)

Conversion – But conversion is not merely a ticket out of hell. It is the beginning of a whole new life, not just an end to the old one. (P. 55.)

Scripture – When we hear and read God’s Word, there is so much more going on than mere instruction. Change is happening, the renewing of the mind (Rom. 12:2). (P. 64.)

EcclesiologyThe Church is the means by which we are to worship corporately, grow spiritually, serve sacrificially, and be fed scripturally. (P. 66.)

HistoricityChristianity is not encapsulated in a set of propositions for us to believe. … Our faith is a historical faith; there is a history to salvation. (P. 109.)

HospitalityAdding a friend to your circle does not diminish the relationships that you already have; it enriches them. (P. 148.)

ForgivenessWhen I forgive someone who has deeply hurt me, it isn’t based on my own righteousness or strength. Only in my weakness, my utter dependence on Christ, am I able to truly forgive based on his righteousness and his strength. (P. 176.)

GraceI keep gauging my spiritual life on what I am doing for God. That’s religious, all right, but it’s not Christian. You see, your worth and value are not found in what you can contribute, but in what you received from God. (P. 182.)

There is so much more in this book, but my point here is to convince you that Aimee’s readership should not be limited to only those people possessing two X chromosomes. Any thinking man can read this and be the richer for it.

Housewife Theologian – it’s not just for housewives.

***

*Disclosures: Aimee Byrd (who blogs at Housewife Theologian) is a friend of mine and she asked her publisher to send me a copy of the book to review. If I thought it stunk, I’d have returned the book. I don’t think it stunk and I kept the book.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Smashing Household Idols – a review of Aimee Byrd’s Housewife Theologian

  1. I didn’t know Aimee had a book coming out! Thanks for the lowdown, Tim. I’m an occasional reader of her blog, but I’m off to subscribe right now so I don’t miss out on any more big news!

  2. Jeannie says:

    Thanks for this, Tim — like Anne, I read Aimee’s blog irregularly but didn’t know she was publishing a book. It looks great! (Are those books in the fridge?)

  3. Lyndsay says:

    This looks really interesting, and I am excited to see how it reads! I found Aimee’s blog quite awhile ago and have really enjoyed reading her writing. She is a unique perspective in my world (which is comprised mostly of non-Christian friends and family who think my shift from atheism to Christianity is a sign of mental weakness!). Thank you for this brief review!

    • Tim says:

      Next week, Lyndsay, I’ll be doing an in-depth reflection on Aimee’s take on God’s work in his people and the consequent role of his people in the world. I think it will show that there is no sign of mental weakness in Aimee’s writing.

  4. Aimee Byrd says:

    Tim, I am thankful for the way you have presented my writing to your readers. I love how you lined up my thoughts on different topics & I am really looking forward to reading your interaction with my chapters on the church and culture (I think that’s what you’re referring to above).

    • Tim says:

      Those are the ones I was thinking of, Aimee. See, even in these comments you’re more lucid than I am. No wonder people should go read your book!

  5. Pingback: Postmillenialism and the Kingdom of God – a corrective from Aimee Byrd | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

Talk to me (or don't)

