A First Blogiversary Party – Mama Told You Not To Come

1 year

365 posts

Thousands of comments

And it all started with this post. As one kind person commented, that first day was like throwing a blog-warming party.

You should be careful what parties you go to, though. You never know where you’ll end up. I’ll let Tom Jones and the Stereophonics explain:

Party on, Tom.

Coming To This Place to Party Can Be A Bit Dicey

Some posts seem to be party central here. The ones that have gotten the most comments and traffic are:

  1. Being a responsible Bible reader even if a famous pastor says you should just take his word for it,
  2. Why I gave up on convincing atheists,
  3. A post on the fallacy of Biblical womanhood,
  4. Another on why women are better than ladies any day, and
  5. Why school shootings have not convinced me to carry a loaded weapon.

Who do I think I am to be writing on subjects as important as Scripture, firearms, gender politics and faith (or lack thereof)?

I’m just me, that’s who.

And that scares me when I stop to look at myself.

Many times we say that we give God all the glory for where we are, or what we have. But we are mere pretenders, publicly displaying modesty while secretly relishing the praise for ourselves. So cleverly deceptive in this art are we that we can convince even ourselves. (Aimee Byrd, Housewife Theologian, p. 234.)

Is there no hope for a blogger like me, one who is apt to relish the praise for myself (because, after all, if I don’t relish it who will)? Yes.

But we are more likely following our calling when we recognize our complete incompetence and utter dependence on God through Christ. … With my own materials and my own efforts, I only end up building the Tower of Babel, but if Jesus Christ has called me to be a part of what he is building, I have full confidence that “he who began a good work in [me] will complete it until the day of Christ.” (Id.)

What if?

This reminds me of the question “What if I threw a party and nobody came?” but I’d change it to “What if I threw a blog but nobody came?”

Doesn’t matter, that’s what if.

God is always with me. Can you come up with a better guest list for a party than that? Or a better list of readers than the Father, Son and Holy Spirit?

Yet I still get caught up in numbers of readers and views and comments and likes and shares and …

“Why hasn’t anyone visited the post I wrote? No one has commented yet, and I published it a whole three and a half minutes ago!”

“Where have all the readers gone? This site was getting a ton of traffic earlier today. I wonder if people stopped reading just because it’s past midnight and most people decided to go to bed. Don’t they know that reading my blog is way more important than sleep?”

“Twitter, Facebook … Facebook, Twitter … where are people most likely to see my writing and then click to read it? Why can’t someone tell me?!”

Deep breath, deeeeeep breath. In fact, try the very Breath of Heaven, the Spirit of Christ himself. Because counting on acquiring things without counting on God is foolishness.

So let me count up what I’ve acquired with God this first year of blogging:

A better understanding of grace.

Several new friends who come by to visit and who I get to visit at their blogs.

The knowledge that God has used this year to show me (and others) who he is through my writing.

Thanks for coming to the party.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to A First Blogiversary Party – Mama Told You Not To Come

  1. michellevl says:

    Thank you for taking that first courageous step to hit “publish”. You’ve brought a smile to your readers on many a day, and pointed us toward Jesus every day.

    • Tim says:

      I am gratified to hear you say that, Michelle. Putting the focus where it belongs, on Jesus, reminds me that this is where we all belong – with Jesus.

  2. Aimee Byrd says:

    It is interesting how God uses blogging to work on our sanctification, isn’t it? Although we shouldn’t be surprised b/c he uses EVERYTHING! My big struggle in blogging is to keep it to what I am truly passionate about, and not fall into the white noise of it all.

    • Tim says:

      I’ve not heard one peep of white noise from your writing, Aimee, not a peep. Your passions for the Lord is evident, and it’s an example that I hope to follow.

  3. Jeannie says:

    Your blog is great, Tim; I enjoy being part of your encouraging community. For me the morning isn’t quite complete if I don’t stop off at Tim’s (and this time I DON’T mean the donut store). Your posts are always interesting and funny, and they always leave me feeling thankful for God’s grace and my relationship to Him. I don’t know HOW you manage to post every day (sometimes twice!!??) but I’m glad you do. Happy blogoversary, and keep on writing and being yourself!

    • Tim says:

      Thanks, Jeannie. And if you do stop off at the donut store, I’m partial to maple bars … and chocolate glazed … and plain old fashioned … and, well you get the idea.

  4. Adriana says:

    ♫ Happy Blogiversary to you! ♫
    Happy Blogiversary to you!
    Happy Blogiversary, dear Train Wreck . . .
    Happy Blogiversary to you! ♫

    ♫…and many more . . .♫

    We need a cake! How about some apple cake? I’m planning to make your recipe soon, Tim.
    Has it really been a year? Time flies when you’re having fun. 🙂

    Two of my favorite posts:
    “All the Days of My Life in a Single Moment”
    https://timfall.wordpress.com/?s=all+the+days+of+my+life+in+a+single+moment

    “Try a Little Tenderness: Otis Reading Sings the Gospel Truth”
    https://timfall.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/try-a-little-tenderness-otis-redding-sings-the-gospel-truth/

    Blog on!

    • Tim says:

      Blog on, Sister!

      You’re gonna love that apple cake. It’s easy and more delicious than you would think is possible.

      And you know what Grouch Marx said about time flying? “Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.”

  5. Adriana says:

    Here’s some apple cake for the party: https://timfall.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/100-year-old-recipes/

    And here’s some root beer: https://timfall.wordpress.com/2013/06/12/salvation-root-beer/

    P.S. “Root Beer Salvation” is another one of my favorite posts.

  6. marsdenmom says:

    A very merry blog-birthday to you!

    I’m thankful for the example you set of someone who can engage a hot-button topic without losing their Christ & others-focus in the process. Also, how committed you are to engage conversation!

    Many happy returns (re-posts/re-tweets) of the day!

  7. Ellen says:

    Congratulations Tim. You’ve done an AMAZING job your first year. You could teach a “How to start a successful blog” class. I’m actually serious about that. So many bloggers publish “How to” posts, and I’m not sure they(we) are always qualified to do so. But you did something (many things) right, to have a blog that is consistent, consistently high quality, and that almost always generates lively conversation. Think about sharing your strategy some time. I bet that post would get lots of traffic 🙂

    • Tim says:

      You are very kind, Ellen. Coming from someone who writes as well as you do about extremely important subjects, this is awfully high praise indeed!

  8. Pingback: Happy Anniversary To My Blog – Flintstone Style | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

  9. Has it really been a whole year?? Congrats on the milestone, Tim!

  10. Lesley says:

    Happy Anniversary! So glad you’re in the blogosphere to share your wisdom with us. Now, go eat an ice cream or something to celebrate. 🙂

  11. exilebelle says:

    Congratulations, Tim and Happy Anniversary!

  12. Deanna says:

    Happy Blogiversary Tim! I am happy that my nosiness led me to your site-your combination of wit and profundity make your posts a joy to read!

  13. Jaimie says:

    Congratulations! I’m so glad Anne Bogel wrote about you, because it’s been a blessing to get to “know” you in the last few months. Your blog makes me think, wonder, smile, and laugh. Well done, and keep it up!

    • Tim says:

      Thanks, Jaimie. Anne is a blessing to many of us, the way she allows us to connect through her blog. I’m so glad you and I did that blog swap guest post pairing last May.

  14. Pingback: Dear Twitter Follower – why I didn’t follow you back | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

  15. Pingback: Dear Mega-Twitterer: there’s a reason I didn’t follow you back | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

Talk to me (or don't)

