Thanksgiving Vacation

As I walked out of chambers this evening I reminded my clerk I would be gone for the next week.

“Have a nice Thanksgiving,” she said.

“You too. See you in December,” I replied. Then a song ran through my head:

See you in Dee-ce-em-ber
See you when Thanksgiving’s through …

A fabulous non-existent and illusory prize of 10,000 interwebz awaits everyone who can tell me where that came from. Don’t worry if someone has already commented with the right answer. I’ve got enough interwebz for plenty of winners!

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Vacation

  1. Hi Tim, It’s from “See you in September” by The Happenings. And no, I am not old enough to remember it (although I was alive at the time). I’m surprised that I’m the first one to comment on this, although, being Canadian, my turkey coma wore off a few weeks ago… Maureen
    BTW, the first pop song I remember is “Big Yellow Taxi” by Joni Mitchell – what’s yours?

    • Tim says:

      You get 10,000 interwebz! Try not to spend them all in one place. Then again, if you run out just ask me for more. I have an inexhaustible supply!

      It’s funny you bring up Big Yellow Taxi funny, because I just mentioned that song to someone who was saying something about not appreciating things until they’re gone. For me, the first pop song I recall is She Loves You (Yeah, Yeah, Yeah).

      I’m also old enough to have been alive when See You in September was recorded by The Happenings in 1966, but not when The Tempos did it first in 1959. That’s the version I remember best, since it was the one on the American Graffiti soundtrack, and I played that record endlessly for a few years.

      Happy Thanksgiving!

      Tim

Talk to me (or don't)

