Getting In Trouble On Twitter

Anyone with a Twitter account knows that rashly responding to a Tweet without thinking it through is a recipe for trouble.

I cooked up some trouble on Tuesday.

Here’s the tweet from talk show host Doug Bursch:

Even though I am neither a pastor nor an author I replied and the next thing I know I’m on the phone with a radio host who’s interviewing me for his show. We talked about encouragement, and about what it means for me to be a trial court judge trying to live faithfully to God.*

Doug is a good interviewer, making me come across as somewhat intelligent and intelligible.** The segment starts at the 12 minute mark on this link:

Later in his program Doug speaks on the church, answering those who say the church isn’t manly enough. If you go to 1:00:45 on the link you’ll probably be as surprised – and pleased – as I was to hear him tie this into the story of Cain and Abel.

***

*I refer to a few Bible passages in that interview: Barnabas – Acts 4:36-37 and 9:26-28; God our Comforter – 2 Corinthians 1:3-4; God as the righteous judge of all the earth – Genesis 18:25.

***

**Doug also serves as a pastor, and blogs at Fairly Spiritual.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Getting In Trouble On Twitter

  1. janehinrichs says:

    It was cool to hear your voice Tim! Thanks for shining for Jesus!

  2. Jeannie says:

    That was a great interview, Tim: I’m glad you replied so rashly!

  3. Ruth says:

    Wow, what a small world! I’ve been a long time listener of Live from Seattle since the timing perfectly matches with driving my kiddos to soccer. 🙂 I’ve only been reader of your blog for a few months, but love it as well. It is so encouraging to have both of you who are grounded in your lives and in your faith share your wisdom. Keep it up!

  4. Laura Droege says:

    I really enjoyed this, Tim. All the talk about encouragement made me curious as to how encouragement (both giving and receiving it) alters our brain chemistry; I’m still researching the answer. But I wonder how the power of encouragement could be harnessed to help those who are struggling with mental disorders, most obviously depression, but other illnesses as well. Just thinking on paper . . . always a slightly dangerous thing!

    Anyway, thanks for sharing this interview.

Talk to me (or don't)

