Celebrating 27 Years of Marriage – it’s anniversary time!

[Tomorrow is our 27th anniversary, so I offer a timely re-post from the archives.]

***

Rejoice in the wife of your youth. (Proverbs 5:18.)

The Wedding

We married in the little church my wife grew up in, on a hill overlooking San Diego Harbor. The most memorable moment was when the minister asked us if he was interrupting. Apparently we were talking to each other through the message he was trying to give about how wonderful marriage is. We apologized and he continued on.

The second most memorable moment is one that I didn’t really remember from the wedding but I did notice when we watched the video. It was taken from the back of the sanctuary and thus showed showed us from the backside. At one point you can see my shoulders heaving up and down. As we watched, my wife said a friend of hers had mentioned that moment to her, saying she thought it was wonderful that I would be so overcome with emotion during the ceremony.

I wasn’t crying. I was laughing. So was my wife. It was another part of our conversation there in the front and one of us said something that both of us thought hilarious. She just did a better job keeping herself under control than I did.

Marriage Work

Long before I met my wife, a friend in college told me that she learned from her mother that marriage is hard work. It seems so obvious now, but that was the first time I ever heard that.

Now that we’ve been married 26 years today, I can say that I am not only aware of the concept but that my wife and I have lived it. Hard work doesn’t mean bad times, though. It just means hard work.

Sunday Clothes 1

We’ve worked at this together, raising our son and daughter, keeping a home, serving God and the people he puts in our lives. Sometimes that’s a blast, sometimes it’s a bit of a drudge (or a lot of a drudge), and almost always it takes work. But it’s work I like, and even if I might think on occasion that I’m not enjoying the work so much I end up finding that I like the results.

Happily Married, But Looking Elsewhere For My Happiness

My wife and children and our home are great. The richness of God’s blessings is evident all the time in our family. But I don’t look to my wife or our family as the source of our happiness. I look to God.

Marriage is not my idol and my wife is not my savior. Frankly, the times I am most aware of the love God has poured down on me in my marriage is when I am most focused on him, not on my wife. It is by enjoying him more that I end up enjoying her more too.

It’s an odd equation, but that’s how it works.

***

[More on how much God has blessed us here and much I love my wife here (this second one made her cry).]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Celebrating 27 Years of Marriage – it’s anniversary time!

  1. jenmuse says:

    Nice choice of day. Tomorrow is also my parents’ 45th anniversary.

  2. Bev Murrill says:

    Congratulations Tim and your wife. You are a testimony to the power of God to work among His people and bring unity out of and within diversity. Good on you. We are married 43 years next week, and yes, hard work is right, but it’s good work.

    • Tim says:

      Unity out of diversity is right, Bev. In some ways there never were two more different people than me and my wife!

      Happy anniversary next week to you and your husband!

  3. Marsha says:

    Happy anniversary, Tim!

  4. Laura Droege says:

    Happy anniversary! Twenty-seven years . . . wow . . . that’s 27 years of hard work, but it’s worth it when the marriage shines and reflects Jesus! As a former pastor used to say, “Pray for your marriage to sing for Jesus.”

  5. Jeannie says:

    Happy anniversary to you & your wife, Tim — hope you have a very nice celebration today.

  6. Pingback: Toasting 27 Years Together in Style – Happy Anniversary! | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

  7. zooey111 says:

    Happy anniversary!!

  8. How lovely 🙂 Despite the fact that I don’t worship my husband, I love how God uses him to teach me and speak to me – and vice versa.

    May you enjoy another 27 years!

    • Tim says:

      I know what you mean, Sandy, and despite the fact I don’t worship my wife I must say that I do admire her greatly.

      • Sorry, I should have explained what I meant! I was referring to the ‘marriage is not my idol and my wife is not my saviour’ bit, because I think a lot of people build up expectations and when their expectations are not met the relationship suffers, but the ‘working at it’ part of marriage is partly negotiating one another’s expectations. Does that make more sense? Sometimes my brain works sideways o_O

        Congratulations, anyway!

  9. Pingback: The Blessings of Being Prideful | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

  10. Dee Parsons says:

    I read your lovely poem to your wife. No wonder she cried. I memorized the first stanza of this poem by Robert Browning. I dedicate it to the both of you.
    Here is a link to the entire piece. http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/173031

    Grow old along with me!
    The best is yet to be,
    The last of life, for which the first was made:
    Our times are in His hand
    Who saith “A whole I planned,
    Youth shows but half; trust God: see all, nor be afraid!”

    • Tim says:

      “The last of life, for which the first was made” – that line is powerful and comforting, Dee. Thank you for sharing that poem.

  11. Pingback: 29 Years and Counting – an anniversary toast | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

  12. Pingback: Blessings and Boasting – the place of pride | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

Talk to me (or don't)

