How to Make the Right Call Every Time

[From the archives.]

U.S. Supreme Court (Wikimedia)

U.S. Supreme Court
(Wikimedia)

“Tony Scalia, here!”

That’s what I heard on the other end of the line, coming to me from across the continent.

Let me back up.

You can guess that I appreciate good writing. I appreciate it when I read  Christian writers. I appreciate it when I read non-Christian writers. And I appreciate it when I read it in my profession. Especially when I read it in my profession. It can be pure drudgery to have to read some turgid legal treatise or opinion, knowing that the information I need must be in there somewhere as I slog along in hopes the misery will soon end. Yet you’d be surprised how many fantastic writers there are in the legal field, too.

Justice Scalia

Justice Scalia

One of them is United States Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia. When he writes an opinion, every word is there because he intends it to be there. Nothing slips by and lands  on the page by accident. There is nothing sloppy about his word-craft. The best opinions, from a purely literary point of view, are his dissents. Those are the ones I will seek out and read sometimes even if they are on a subject that has zero chance of landing in my courtroom.

After I’d been on the bench a couple of years, I was reading one of those dissents and came across a particularly well-written portion and thought, “I wonder if I can call the Supreme Court and let Justice Scalia know how much I appreciate that? No harm in trying.”

So I did. Call the U.S. Supreme Court, that is. The main number went to a switchboard operator who asked how she could direct my call.

“Justice Scalia’s chambers, please.” I half expected my call to be dropped right there. After all, anyone with legitimate business with a member of the Supreme Court probably already has the direct line to chambers, right?

“One moment.”

Oh. OK, then. So far, so good.

“Justice Scalia’s chambers,” another woman said quite pleasantly. “May I help you?”

I gave her my name and explained I was a trial judge from California and that I wondered if Justice Scalia might be available. Next thing I knew, a booming voice came down the line.

“Tony Scalia, here!”

Suffice to say that this was a great phone call!

Calling the Top

There’s an even better call we can make, though. It’s the one that comes through faith by God’s grace.

“The same Lord is Lord of all and richly blesses all who call on him, for, ‘Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.'” (Romans 10:12-13.)

Everyone who calls.

Everyone.

Every. single. one.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to Make the Right Call Every Time

  1. “Every. single. one.”

    How utterly, amazingly wonderful!

  2. Laura Droege says:

    I remember when you first posted this particular story. Loved it then, love it now, love the application even more: God always answers the phone. No call waiting, no answering machines, no customer service reps who “will be with you shortly.” God is always with us, and we don’t even have to have coherent thoughts for him to know what we need.

  3. Hester says:

    You, sir, have guts. 😉

Talk to me (or don't)

