Turn A Single Penny Into Fabulous Riches … In Just One Month!

[Adapted from the archives.]

***

Who knew that pennies could mean so much? According to this article, starting with one penny and then doubling it every day for a month (two pennies, four pennies, and so on) will really add up. All the way to more than $5 million, it’ll add up. That’s 500 million pennies!

Here’s how it works:

One penny doubled is 2 cents. Two cents turns to $0.04, $0.04 to $0.08, $0.08 to $0.16, $0.16 to $0.32, $0.32 to $0.64, and $0.64 to $1.28. Nothing very exciting there.

But when you stick with it, it’s that last few times when the figure doubles that it gets very, very exciting. You’re looking at $1,342,177.28 becoming $2,684,354.56, and $2,684,354.56 doubling to $5,368,709.12.

Now all I need is to find a penny so I can get started. Only 30 days to riches and my life is set!

That’s not how it works in the kingdom of God, though. Our lives are not to be a matter of chasing after money in order to obtain security and comfort and leisure. That type of life is a fool’s game.

Here’s how it works in God’s kingdom. Workers hired last are paid the same as those who started early.  God’s kingdom welcomes those who arrive at the last minute, too late to put in any work at all. God’s kingdom even comes to those who are flat-out dead:

When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the charge of our legal indebtedness, which stood against us and condemned us; he has taken it away, nailing it to the cross. (Colossians 2:13-14.)

So not only did God bring me into his kingdom when I was dead, it was when I was dead and indebted. He forgave all my sins – past, present and future – so that I never need seek forgiveness again. He made me alive and cancelled that debt of sin on the cross where Jesus died.

I am now wealthy through God’s riches in Christ’s glory. And that’s better than 500 million pennies any day.

In fact, it’s better than 500 million pennies for eternity.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Turn A Single Penny Into Fabulous Riches … In Just One Month!

  1. Laura Droege says:

    That’s wonderful news! I never cared for economics classes, but this is one lesson that I like.

  2. Elizabeth-Anne says:

    Hello Tim,
    Nice to meet you !
    I have gotten a pleasant surprize by subscribing to your blog. I have always called myself a train wreck due to a life of bad choice, a pretty unhappy and abusive childhood, and moving from one crisis to the next ( in and out of shrinks offices and therapy for 35 years now ), but now that this post has come thru, I see it has nothing to do with self bashing, and horror stories, but wonderfully written lovely blogs about the Almighty, who I daily am trying to get closer and closer to.

    Have a nice holiday weekend.

    Elizabeth-Anne

    • Tim says:

      I’m glad you’re here, Elizabeth-Anne. I have to admit that giving this blog the sub-title “Just One Train Wreck After Another” was more a matter of managing reader’s expectations than anything else. That way if a particular blog post stinks then I can say I warned everyone ahead of time!

  3. Pastor Bob says:

    That has to be one of the best applications I have seen of that parable.
    Best because it was simple and to the point.

Talk to me (or don't)

