Sherlock Holmes and the Case of the Mysterious Duodenum

“But Holmes, how on earth did you know the murder weapon was lodged in the victim’s intestine?”

“It’s alimentary, my dear Watson.”

***

[Old joke, worth retelling. Because puns are funny.]

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sherlock Holmes and the Case of the Mysterious Duodenum

  1. Jeannie says:

    I never thought you’d have the guts to post that, Tim!

  2. Pastor Bob says:

    The pun has oft been called the lowest form of humour,
    yet it is just often lost on those who are without a higher measure of discernment.

    Blessings!

    • Tim says:

      I’ve noticed that too, PB. The people I’ve noticed decrying puns are the people who have diminished senses of humor in general. As for the lowest form of humor, C.S. Lewis didn’t say it was punnery.

      • Pastor Bob says:

        After a trying day, our group went to a local eatery for dinner. One of the leaders said that puns were off limits for the night. One guy slipped, and was sent to the corner. As he walked away, another said, “Sorry Don, its off the punitentiary for you.”

        Makes me wonder thought — even at its “kindest,” would not flippancy still be harsh and cruel?

  3. Laura Droege says:

    Oddly enough, I’ve been thinking about humor recently, and this morning, I read that quote from C.S. Lewis that you referenced in reply to Pastor Bob! I was looking to see if he had some Christian wisdom about satire, such as when it’s appropriate, inappropriate, what tone a Christian satire should take, all that. Sorry, I know that’s off-topic from the Sherlock pun. 🙂

  4. Hahaha! Good one. And all the comments! Delicious, in fact. I don’t mean to butter you up or curry favour with you, but I think this post takes the cake!

    I don’t want to bellyache about this, but I do struggle to digest the fact that some people just can’t stomach a good pun… I mean, if you take the time to chew on it, a pun doesn’t need to stick in your throat. I admit, it does leave a bad taste in the mouth when people just regurgitate the same old cheesy, half-baked ones, and a text can become quite bloated if one stuffs it with too many — probably a recipe for disaster.

    The same goes for metaphor, I suppose. Although in some ways a different kettle of fish from puns, some folk just seem to find them unpalatable, too. I think it boils down to the fact that they have never learnt to take such things with a grain of salt (or grace, as the case may be), which is why they find them such a pain in the … well … stomach. Teaching your consumers … I mean, readers to appreciate puns might make the pill easier to swallow, although that will take time, bit by bit. After all, the only way to eat an elephant is one bite at a time.

    So, Tim, do stir the odd pun into the pot, just to spice things up! I am keen as mustard to see you cook up some more. I don’t mean to egg you on or anything, but your discerning readers need a varied intellectual diet, sprinkled with some juicy puns and metaphors — all in good pun … er … fun, of course. (You’re a much more experienced blogger than I and you certainly know your onions, so please don’t think that, by dishing out this advice, I am trying to be saucy or to teach my grandmother to suck eggs.)

    Seriously, though, I think I had better stop now; I have a gut feeling that this comment is beginning to mushroom to gastronomical proportions and look dangerously like verbal diarrhoea. It would get my stomach all in a knot if I had to think that my comment were considered to be in bad taste or upsetting the apple cart! If it should cause a storm in a teacup, please don’t stew on it; if you feel you have a bone to pick with me, just spit it out so we can berry … I mean, bury the hatchet, rather than feed any resentment and possibly develop a stomach ulcer. Leaving things like that on the back burner can make a relationship go belly up.

    I respectfully submit these morsels to you as food for thought.

  5. Thanks, Tim, I swallow the compliment hook, line, and sinker … Aargh, here I go again! Sorry, I just can’t seem to help myself today.

Talk to me (or don't)

