Stumbling Through Christmas

Judy Garland and Mel Torme sing together beautifully and with real happiness in this duet, even sharing a laugh as she stumbles over one of the lines:

Isn’t it wonderful how graciously Mel handled Judy stumbling over that line in a song he wrote? You can tell how much they love singing together.

The whole Christmas season can be like that, a time of stumbling along with people we love. If you’re a stumbler like me, let’s remember to love and laugh with one another as we stumble through this season together.

After all, we have a God who loves us and is with us in our stumbles. This is the Savior we celebrate.

The people walking in darkness
    have seen a great light;
on those living in the land of deep darkness
    a light has dawned.

For to us a child is born,
    to us a son is given … . (Isaiah 9:2, 6.)

A child brings light into the darkness, and in that light we will never stumble again.

That makes me want to sing too.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Stumbling Through Christmas

  1. Jeannie says:

    Thanks for sharing that, Tim! You’re right — the mistakes didn’t matter (Do rainbows fly??) because the enjoyment and friendship was so obvious. And the singing and playing were so good! What a lovely voice MT had.

  2. janehinrichs says:

    Ah, this made me smile. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  3. Laura Droege says:

    Lovely! Enjoyed how you linked the singing to those verses in Isaiah 9. Thanks for the smile and the encouragement.

    • Tim says:

      Honestly, Laura, I was just going to post the video as a grin-inducing treat, but as I started creating that post it led to Isaiah 9 in my mind so I went for it.

  4. Bev Murrill says:

    I agree, Tim. We stumble often, but if we don’t take ourselves too seriously, we are not overwhelmed when we do. It’s the need to present a perfect (read ‘not credible’) exterior that makes us not able to cope with our own mistakes and the mistakes of others.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family. I love reading your blog.

  5. I stumble along so often, with mistakes for the world to see. I’m thankful for real relationships where grace abounds and love covers a multitude of my stumblings. And more than that, I’m thankful for a steady God, who waits patiently for me when I’ve stumbled and fallen and waits for me to regain my footing. He doesn’t keep walking along without me.

  6. Love, love, love. such incredible talent, with fun and friendship. And I want a dress just like Judy Garland’s to wear for New Year’s Eve!

    • Tim says:

      If you dress like that for the holidays, Keri, will you also be singing duets at the piano? Your fans will insist on video, of course.

      As for their friendship, apparently Mel wrote the special music for Judy’s television programs so they had a lot of time together. What a powerful pair of talented people.

Talk to me (or don't)

