Sunday School Lessons – Infinity Goes Both Ways

The disciples were even more amazed, and said to each other, “Who then can be saved?”

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but not with God; all things are possible with God.” (Mark 10:26-27.)

***

I was thinking earlier this week on infinite small numbers, like fractions that keep getting divided in half. Is there an indivisible infinitesimal – that is, do you ever divide so small that it is both infinitely small and completely undividable any further? No, infinity means infinity and that goes for both smallness and largeness.*

Which then makes me think of God.

God is infinitely greater than we are, and therefore we are infinitely less than he is. But this infinite gap is bridged by the One who is both God and us because he is infinitely capable.

***

*Yes I am aware that in geometry a point on a line is indivisible, but I am talking arithmetic – not geometry – when it comes to infinite smallness. Sheesh, as Archimedes once said to a pedantic Pythagorean.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday School Lessons – Infinity Goes Both Ways

  1. Jeannie says:

    This makes me think of that verse about God being able to do “infinitely more than all we can ask or imagine.” I can hardly begin to wrap my mind around that one!

  2. Laura Droege says:

    I’m infinitely incapable of completely understanding how Christ bridges that gap, how he can be both man and God, and the greatness of God. But I don’t have to understand it completely to trust that He does bridge the gap, that he is God and man, and that He is infinitely great and awesome! Our visiting preacher this morning quoted someone (I don’t remember who): “If God were small enough for us to understand Him completely, then He’d be too small for us to worship.”

  3. Tim says:

    That quote reminds me of Paul’s assurance that though we now know in part there will be a time in eternity when we will know fully. Woo-hoo!

  4. Yes I am aware that in geometry a point on a line is indivisible, but I am talking mathematics – not geometry – when it comes to infinite smallness.

    Geometry is a field of mathematics. I think you meant to say that you are talking about arithmetic, not geometry.

    That said, there’s a really excellent book on the subject of the infinitely small called Infinitesimal: How a Dangerous Mathematical Theory Shaped the Modern World by Amir Alexander. I highly recommend it, if you are interested in the subject.

Talk to me (or don't)

