Fading Flowers, Eternal Love

I pulled into the driveway after running errands on Saturday, thinking of how I wanted to just sit for a bit before leaving the house for church that evening. As I backed toward the garage trying to fit the car between the cabinets and the minivan, I saw the tree out of the corner of my eye.

There’s nothing eye-catching about the tree usually. It’s not tall, and it’s not out front and center. It’s just there, tucked next to the garage on the front lawn. But for a few weeks every spring, the tree is worth a look.

The tree’s image lingered in my mind’s eye. Sitting still and putting my feet up before church could wait for a moment. I walked out the front door and saw this:

TreeDrawn to it, I saw the individual flowers, each like a snowflake unique in making up a beautiful spring bloom, a bouquet on a tree. Their place on the tree is transitory, a short life of pale color that will not only fade but drop away as the days get longer and the temperature grows hot.

FlowerAnd I recalled what Jesus said about flowers and the love of God:

Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you … ! (Matthew 12:27-28.)

God cares about the beauty of the blossoms on a tree, and he cares even more for you. You are his beloved child, and he is your Father who not only wants what’s best for you but is able to provide all that is best for you too.

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. (James 1:17.)

His love for you will never fade away or fall to the ground like the blossoms on a tree. It lasts forever.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. This inheritance is kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. (1 Peter 1:3-5.)

God has given you new birth and an inheritance that does not perish. These are yours now, and God himself is keeping them safe. You are like a flower whose beauty never fades, whose scent never spoils, whose life never perishes.

You are loved and cared for by the eternal God for all eternity.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fading Flowers, Eternal Love

  1. Jeannie says:

    Beautiful pictures, beautiful post. Isn’t it amazing how God is speaking to us of His love at every moment through the things around us, if we just take time to stop and look and listen.

    • Tim says:

      I need to remind myself not only to stop, but to tune my ear to him when I slow down. It’s too easy to let myself get distracted by the world, which just revs me up again so that I’m no longer slowed down.

  2. Dee Parsons says:

    Beautiful!

  3. caramac54 says:

    I love how much you love – and know – God, Tim.

  4. In God’s eyes we are perfectly beautiful. He sees the transformed-by-His-grace person. Thank you, Jesus. Happy Easter and thank you Tim for this beautiful reminder of how blessed we are.

Talk to me (or don't)

