The Best Strategy For When Something Is Better Left Unsaid

I was going to write a post about how I don’t like something, but then realized it could lead someone to leave a comment saying something I didn’t like. The point of the post wasn’t something important enough to argue with someone over. So I didn’t write a post about something, which is another way of saying there’s something I didn’t write a post about.

Even fools are thought wise if they keep silent,
    and discerning if they hold their tongues. (Proverbs 17:28.)

Some things are better left unwritten.*

***

*Consider that a writing prompt, with the comment section being your blue book. Everyone who turns in an answer is guaranteed to receive an A+ on this assignment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Best Strategy For When Something Is Better Left Unsaid

  1. I often write things that never get posted. It’s not worth it. Blogland is not a substitute for life.

    • Tim says:

      A+

      I’ve written a few that have then gone to the trash folder. I never go back and wonder if I should reconsider.

  2. govpappy says:

    I wasn’t gonna say anything, but I don’t like your tone, young man.

    • Tim says:

      A+

      When it comes to tone, I like sepia.

      • govpappy says:

        Fun story, a friend of mine who’s a bit of a wordsmith asked me to look over a personal statement of his for a law school application, and at one point he used the word “trafficked” to reference the kids his parents had taken in as foster children. He was horrified when I pointed it out, and changed it. I see why he keeps me around now.

  3. Erica M. says:

    Sometimes I use writing to go on long angry rants, then delete them without posting because in my head I can very, very clearly envision every single Internet comment that will result. XD

    • Tim says:

      A+

      I’ve been able to come up with those future comments too. They can motivate me sometimes to reword things that ought to be said but said differently.

  4. Ellen says:

    The truth is, not saying anything is really saying quite a lot.

    • Tim says:

      A+

      I used to have a small poster in my room in high school that reminded me: “Silence is the only successful substitute for brains.” I still beed that reminder sometimes.

  5. Ruth says:

    Composing long, ranting, over explaining, blogs in my head makes so tired I often don’t write anything. Rubbing those thoughts out with a prayerful eraser helps clear the mental board. I always write too much, even when I’m thinking straight. The fact that I had to change from right to left hand to finish my english lit year 12 exam says it all…and that I was dux of my year doesn’t really reflect in my ramblings, I do love writing!

    • Tim says:

      A+

      “Rubbing those thoughts out with a prayerful eraser helps clear the mental board.” Now there’s a thought that was well worth writing, Ruth, because I found it well worth reading. Well said.

  6. Jeremy M. says:

    Sometimes I do this, not because the issue isn’t important, but more because I don’t feel very qualified to be the one to write about said topic. I’ll write but wind up sending it off to the trash because I didn’t really feel I was handling the subject the best. Of course in a world that sometimes views silence as not caring, this is tough. Silence doesn’t mean i don’t care or that I’m not thinking about something. It may just mean that I don’t feel like my words will really add anything at this point.

    • Tim says:

      A+

      I completely agree, Jeremy. I start to opine on something and then realize there’s a difference between an opinion and an informed opinion, and that mine is sometimes definitely the former and not the latter.

  7. govpappy says:

    One helpful alternative to spouting off what may be an underdeveloped opinion is asking the pertinent questions that led to your opinion, and let others draw the conclusions. In theory, everyone learns.

    • Tim says:

      A+ (Your second of the day. Don’t think I’m not paying attention here. And you can only take this course for credit once.)

      I like that approach, Pappy, and have used it before. It’s like asking people “Come, let’s explore this together.”

  8. Jeannie says:

    I know exactly what you mean here. I’ve composed in my head, and sometimes actually typed, many comments, responses, etc. that have never seen the light of day (fortunately). The Delete key is something we should all make more use of, I think!

  9. Pastor Bob says:

    Or put another way:
    “pick your battles…..”
    or:
    You’ve got to know when to hold ’em
    Know when to fold ’em
    Know when to walk away
    And know when to run

  10. Kathi says:

    I find I hold my tongue (or words) more in speech than in writing. Though, just like I choose not to say something, I may also choose not to write something. It’s sometimes a fine line to know when talk and when to stay silent. Often, I choose to stay silent even though I’m screaming on the inside.

    • Tim says:

      A+

      That screaming that goes on inside while remaining silent on the outside is a good skill to develop sometimes.

      • Kathi says:

        I guess I could say that I’ve mastered the art of staying silent. I often wonder how good it really is for me. Though in some avenues I feel safe to let it out.

Talk to me (or don't)

