Sometimes it’s the hardest prayer to pray – part 1

This is how my prayers go sometimes:

“God, I’m not sure I can tell you this … . Oh, you already know about it? Whew. That’s a load off my chest.”

***

What is a hard prayer for you to pray? Why?

***

See part 2 for a prayer I find comes easily.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sometimes it’s the hardest prayer to pray – part 1

  1. VelvetVoice (Susan Donroe) says:

    I just have to remember to do it. Especially when life is easy. I can’t wait for Heaven, when everything we do and everything we think is automatically prayer.

    • Tim says:

      That is such a wonderful aspect of Heaven, Susan. Every thought, word and deed will be a perfect prayer to God. Thanks much for giving me that truth today.

  2. Dee Parsons says:

    May Your will be done; not mine if it is in conflict.

    When my daughter was so sick with her brain tumor, we did everything humanly possible to get her help. But, at a particular point, we could do no more. We prayed for her healing but knew we should want God’s will to be done. That is very hard and I had to learn this lesson over years. I am still not sure I am there but I’m getting better.

    Thankfully, it was God’s will that she survive. The first to do so with this tumor. But, I didn’t know that for many years.

    • Tim says:

      That is not only a hard prayer to pray, but can be an agonizing one for me. I want to pray, “Just this once, God! Just this once can’t you do my will instead of yours?”

  3. Jeannie says:

    I find it hard to pray “Father, forgive them,” because if God forgives someone and I don’t, then I’m not on the same page as He is: I’d rather enjoy my resentments a bit longer. That’s a tough one.

  4. Christine says:

    I find it hard to pray, “Jesus, make me more like you”. It scares me because I know that I will have to give up the “stuff” that makes me less like Jesus. Things like unrighteous anger and not being forgiving, among other things.

    • Tim says:

      That is so true, Christine. I know I become more the me Jesus created me to be when I become more like him, but it’s hard to give up the me that I’ve molded myself into being.

  5. I find it hard to pray “I’m here again, Lord…praying for the same thing.” Sometimes I want to give up! And then I re-read that verse that tells us to be persistent in prayer.

  6. Pingback: A Prayer I Find Easy to Pray – part 2 | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

  7. Pingback: Mercy | multicolouredsmartypants

Talk to me (or don't)

