The Fallacy of Getting Closer to God

You can’t get closer to God.

No matter how hard you try, you can’t.

Honest, you really can’t.

And that’s good news. Here’s why:

God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. (Colossians 1:27.)

Jesus is in you. You can’t get closer than in.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Fallacy of Getting Closer to God

  1. casabeca says:

    Such very good news for us all! Thank you for faithfully sharing truth with us :).

  2. patbadstibner says:

    WOW! A great concept, one worthy of more exploration. I hope you don’t mind if I explore this further. I do believe that you are one of the few bold enough to make a very true, but bold statement. Right, there with the false gospel of dying to self post.

    Thanks Tim

  3. Jeannie says:

    I think this a great reminder because so often people will say “I don’t feel close to God” or “I haven’t done my devotions so I’m not as close to God as I should be.” Those are authentic emotions but maybe we can’t trust them to tell us the whole story about the reality of God in our hearts. I wonder, though: is James talking about something different when he says “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you”?

    • Tim says:

      That’s a great question, Jeannie. James seems to be talking about choices, getting at how we can choose to align our actions with God, rather than about relational (or existential) reality.

  4. Pastor Bob says:

    Interesting take.
    Worthy of consideration.
    Thanks.

  5. Brian says:

    I heard some old preachers teach on this many years ago, but I question if this really erases maturing in Christ altogether ? is there really no process in growing in this walk? there seems to be a myriad of New Testament teaching that suggests we grow & mature and disciple to some degree ? I came out of a cult so I am very aware of discipleship pitfalls, I may be missing the import of what your saying Tim.

  6. Tuija says:

    So, it’s not like we’d get any closer to God (in the sense that you could measure a distance).
    But as we grow and mature as Christians, we gain a better sense of how close God is to us – of what it means for us that Christ is in us. So we can feel “closer” to God at some times in our lives than at other times – because at those times we understand the relationship better?

Talk to me (or don't)

