Quibbling is Crippling the Internet

Some people like to find fault and argue over even the slightest of disagreements.

quibbling

I quibble on occasion. If it’s not worth full-blown quibbling, I merely quib.

There’s a better way:

Don’t have anything to do with foolish and stupid arguments, because you know they produce quarrels. Opponents must be gently instructed, in the hope that God will grant them repentance leading them to a knowledge of the truth, and that they will come to their senses and escape from the trap of the devil, who has taken them captive to do his will. (2 Timothy 2:23, 25-26.)

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Quibbling is Crippling the Internet

  1. Erica M. says:

    We had a substitute teacher in high school who would always say “Don’t quibble with me” when one of us asked a question about something. Naturally, we quibbled even more. I noticed after a year we never saw him substitute again. I think we ran him off. 😄

  2. Laura Droege says:

    You won’t get any quibbling (or quibbing) from me over this post. I wholeheartedly agree!

  3. Pastor Bob says:

    What is “quibbling” and waht is a topic worthy of deeper discussion?
    Often when one is uncomfortable with the topic, or could possibly incorrect, we hear this.

    Do we discuss things of faith, or are we “quibbling?”

    Is this a quibble, or is this what we hear with:
    “You have to know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em……”

    • Tim says:

      Distinguishing between the two is a skill developed over time, born of experience and wisdom, isn’t it PB? I’m still developing mine.

  4. Yes, although quibbling seems too gentle of a word for some of the disagreements that take place on the internet. Quibbrawling maybe sounds like the kind of word that would fit in these cases, but one we don’t have… yet.

    • Melody says:

      Exactly. There’s quibbling…and then there’s full-blown insulting Westboro style…! It’s the picking apart of words and motives that stems from a refusal to take people as they come that bothers me. It would be great if we all assumed the best about each others’ motives and personhood even when we disagreed. That would make Christians stand out. I have yet to meet anyone wh agrees with me on everything, but it’s tiring when you are prevented from healthy convo by quibbling. 😉

      • Tim says:

        I haven’t met anyone who agrees with me on everything either, Melody, but I’d settle for someone who disagrees with me on nothing.

    • Tim says:

      Quibbrawling – that’s a word the internet has been waiting for, Jeremy.

  5. govpappy says:

    Calvinism vs Arminianism. Go.

    Y’all have a good night, now. Don’t let me hear no silence from your rooms.

Talk to me (or don't)

