A Senior Devil, Mere Faith, and the Beginnings of My Life in Jesus

[This is a guest post for Jennifer Neyhart’s blog series “The Books that Read Us”.]

***

Is it cliché to say that C.S. Lewis had a formative influence on my understanding of what it means to belong to Jesus? Not that it matters if it is cliché. It’s true.

An Atheist Reads a Devil’s Letters

The Screwtape Letters came to me as a gift, both literally and figuratively. I was an atheist traveling around England on Christmas break in 1983 and a couple of young Christian women I met thought I might like Lewis’ epistolary novel of temptation and faith.

I did.

Screwtape advised his nephew Wormwood how to capitalize on his target’s petty jealousies of others.

I recognized petty jealousies in my own life.

Screwtape spoke of leveraging the target’s smug self-satisfaction.

I recognized smug self-satisfaction in …
[click through to Jennifer’s blog to read the rest.]

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me (or don't)

