Less Me, More Me, All Jesus

My wife and daughter signed me up to run a half marathon with them.

They knew full well that I’d never run 13.1 miles in my life, yet they did it anyway. But this is one of the Disney half marathons and that has to make running for over two hours straight much more fun, right?

Now I’ve added a weekend run for longer distance, trying to work up from my usual six to seven miles to something approximating the half marathon distance. Last Sunday I ran 13.1 on the nose.

I survived.

Now I just have to convince my body to go and do it again.

Making a Better Me

Running is supposed to help me be a better me – more strength, more stamina, more fit. The Bible even talks of the spiritual aspects of running races.

But my friend Kenny was able to improve me greatly merely by cartoonifying me:

Cartoon Portrait

The cartoonified me, courtesy of Kenny Ray Pierce

The cartoon version of me is one handsome guy. Thanks, Kenny!

That cartoon was taken from an older picture of me. If done with a current photo, I’d be cartoonified with wrinkles and grayer hair.

No, I will not be supplying an updated photo for Kenny to work with for a new cartoon.

Old Less Me, New More Me

God is working on the current version of me, however, and I’m told Jesus has brought me into the new creation right now:

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! (2 Corinthians 5:17.)

My present body is subject to decay, though. One day I will die.

You too.

That will be glorious.

So will it be with the resurrection of the dead. The body that is sown is perishable, it is raised imperishable; it is sown in dishonor, it is raised in glory; it is sown in weakness, it is raised in power; it is sown a natural body, it is raised a spiritual body. If there is a natural body, there is also a spiritual body. (1 Corinthians 15:42-44.)

Death is not the end.

A new body of glory and power, a spiritual and imperishable body, is yours forever. And this new body will actually be more the real you than your old body could ever be, because this is what God intends for you and we know his ways are always the true reality.

So trust Jesus, the one who makes you new, who makes you able to run with him.

And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. (Hebrews 12:1-2.)

He is the one who delivers perfection. And that’s better than a good-looking cartoon version of me.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Less Me, More Me, All Jesus

  1. Pastor Bob says:

    “And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.”
    Remember as you run this……..
    === maybe the last mile, “Feet DON’T fail me now!”

    (Let us know how you do on this new (longer) endeavor.)

  2. Jeannie says:

    I like this, Tim — God can only work with the real us and “his ways are always the true reality.” The process can be painful at times but we can trust it’s always for our good because He loves us.

    • Tim says:

      And as he’s working on us I’m glad to know that he who began a good work in me will bring it to completion (Philippians 1:6).

  3. As selfish as it may be to say this, I needed this post today, Tim, and I feel like God meant it for me. I was told last week to stop running for now due to health issues and it took the wind out of my sail. Your post was the perfect reminder that someday I’ll be running free with fellow believers in our new home, with no worries of health problems!

    • Fall Timothy says:

      I am so sorry to hear about your health issues preventing you from exercising as you’d like, NMP. I know how important it is to get in those workouts, both from a physical and from an emotional health point of view. I hope you are able to recover quickly, and that in the meantime you find that god is sustaining you every moment.

      • Thanks, Tim. I’ve taken up biking instead – it’s funny how we remember how to bike; I haven’t biked in 18 years! – and am enjoying it. I also walk a lot more and so the kids and I go for a daily walk in the morning. And the evening and weekends, my husband gets on his bike too, and you’ll see two crazy parents and their six crazy kids biking down the street. People joke that we have our own parade. 🙂

        Yes, God sustains me when I get bad news. I am grateful that He knows what it is like to be human and that it isn’t easy. I’m grateful that God reassures us with the promise of healthy bodies!

  4. Tuija says:

    Great message Tim.
    And have a great run at the half marathon!

    • Fall Timothy says:

      Thanks, Tuija. It’s coming up in November. I’ll let you know how it goes. If I’m not too sore to use a keyboard.

  5. Kenny Pierce says:

    What can I say, Tim, but that this was the tonic needed after a long week. Transformation is an operative word in my word lately, and fear seems to be its antithesis. You embrace the promise and joy latent in renewal through Christ, and do so without abandon. I love this, and needed to reminded to “be not afraid” in the face of any new calling.

    “I am about to do a new thing;
    now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
    I will make a way in the wilderness
    and rivers in the desert.”
    (Isaiah 43:19)

    Thanks, Tim, and peace.

    • Tim says:

      A way through the wilderness and rivers through a parched land – what a great promise to hold on to as you move from one end of the continent to the other, Kenny. And thanks for the cartoonification. I couldn’t have written this post without you!

Talk to me (or don't)

