A quote on comparing ourselves to others

Lawn care, splicing commas and hitting the gym – Laura Droege has some wise words on not comparing ourselves to others.

Laura Droege's blog

My gym has a white board with inspirational quotes. Here’s one:

7da4f004d9644be0a8db5d610e0f6e44This is a great thing to remember whenever we start to play the comparison game. At church this past week, the teacher quoted a verse about not comparing ourselves to others, lest we become envious and boasting.

When I see that your grass is greener, I’m jealous. (Her stomach is flatter! He’s smarter! She has a publishing deal! And I bet they’re gloating over how much better they are, too.)

On the flip side, if your grass is browner, I become a little too big for my ballcap. (Ha, MY stomach was flatter when I was seven months pregnant! Ha, my dog is smarter than he is, and I don’t even OWN a dog! Ha, I know how to split infinitives better than SHE does! And I can splice commas like nobody’s business! And become judgmental about grammar!)

Neither…

View original post 122 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A quote on comparing ourselves to others

  1. patbadstibner says:

    I wish those who are wanting to talk about “Healthy Church” as its mature compared to that church over there that is unhealthy could get this point. Which is the point of Galitians 6:3

    Thanks Tim

  2. Laura Droege says:

    Thanks for the reblog, Tim. I appreciate it and all your support for my writing.

  3. Pastor Bob says:

    Some we know of said something like:
    “Vanity of vanities, all is sheer vanity….”
    or
    “I am what I am” — Glory to God!

Talk to me (or don't)

