Social Media Activists – an outrageous analysis

outrage

***

Love is patient, love is kind.
1 Corinthians 13:4

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Social Media Activists – an outrageous analysis

  1. Tim, that’s absolutely and I mean not a little bit, but Totally, not even slightly, but full board, not even halfway, but over the barrel OUTRAGEOUS!

  2. Life With Teens & Other Wild Things says:

    I keep seeing comments like this “2015: The year America was offended by everything”

    But I can’t help but think they shut down discussion and widen divides.

    Is it ridiculous that people are “outraged” by Target’s decision to remove gender labels from toys? I think so, but I also think the outrage is prompted by people who feel as if the country is spinning out of control, what with all this newfangled civil rights legislation and all.

    Outrage is prompted by fear, most often, and dismissing it casually dismisses those concerns, instead of engaging.

  3. It certainly is. How dare people not be outraged by the same exact things as us always, and take to our internet battle stations for every issue. Even worse that people have lives off of the internet that keep them from commenting on every issue.

    I just don’t understand the world sometimes.

  4. Pastor Bob says:

    How not to be outraged at things that outrage, unless of course one is outraged at the non-issue that has been labeled as outrageous by those who are clueless and follow the leads of those who are likewise outraged by the outrageous – of NORMAL.
    == *sigh….
    Shakespeare said it best, “Much Ado about Nothing.”

  5. Carmen S. says:

    In regard to Target’s decision on gender-neutral toys– this is the United States of America. In Sweden they have tried to force companies for sometime now to sell gender-neutral. In schools they try to force this on children, but the “subjects” revert back to original behavior as soon as the studies end. Give a little girl a toy train and she puts it in her baby carriage, covers it up with a blanket in order for it to take a nap. Give a little boy a toy house and he catapults the baby carriage off the roof. Instead of expressing “uninformed” outrage, would it not be more effective to present intelligent information? Take a class in logic and read “Amusing Ourselves to Death” by Neil Postman.

    • Rusty says:

      If it is so “natural” and “Innate”, then there is no need for them to explicitly label the aisles & paint them pink and blue (as at our local Target). My daughter never “put the toy train in her baby carriage”, but in fact she played with it…and toy airplanes…AND her dolls. There is nothing inherently “boy” or “girl” about Lego, but that is how they were being marketed at Target. Target has made this change based on input from parents…like me. Children have different preferences that don’t always fit “pink & blue”. The sky is not falling…

      BTW, that daughter of mine is about to go off to college to be an engineer… 🙂

      • Tim says:

        I figure kids should be allowed to play with whatever toys they like, and no one should stigmatize them for their choices.

      • Carmen S. says:

        Rusty,
        At first I was going to mention a female in this country was able to become an engineer, unlike the opportunities in a Muslim country. I chose not to go that way of argument. I didn’t say the sky was falling, did I? Please, don’t jump to the conclusion I am
        “one of those people”. With more females now graduating from college, I’d like a son OR daughter being able to choose to become an engineer.

    • Tim says:

      I’ve seen little girls do the smash-em-up type play and little boys care for a stuffed animal as if it were a baby. They both seemed normal to me.

  6. Tuija says:

    Social media is a tricky thing. One one hand, a great way to give voice to issues and concerns that we care about. On the other hand, it’s a bit scary how conversations can become nasty arguments.
    It seems to be altogether too easy for us to forget that even when we’re behind screens, we’re still interacting with real people.
    This reminds me of a book I just finished: Jon Ronson’s So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed. In some of the cases he describes, people are outraged by something someone wrote/said/did, the comments escalate into a public humiliation campaign directed at the “offender”, and the end result doesn’t seem to be in any sensible proportion to their original “offense”. (I’m putting the words offender and offense in quotation marks because those are also used in the context of criminal activities, but that’s not the sort of offense I mean here.)

    Because I’m not on Facebook or Twitter (and don’t live in the USA), I tend to miss most of the big social media uproars. The bandwagon is long gone before I could jump on it. That’s probably a good thing. 🙂

    • Tim says:

      The other thing about the public shaming comments is often they are posted based on incomplete reports. I remember reading one posting where a person spoke of some horrendous patriarchal statements coming from the pulpit of an unnamed church. Happily, another commenter identified the church and proved by reviewing the video of the sermon that the comments were never made in the first place. The original poster had an ax to grind and was just pursuing an agenda against the church.

    • Rev. Carlene Appel, MDiv. says:

      Tuija,
      I’m not on Facebook or Twitter either and I do live in the U.S. The scenario you describe appears to have become all too common tragically and I’ve observed it most common among whoever is screaming for tolerance the loudest. This reminds me of something I heard Ravi Zacharius respond to yesterday in regard to being accused of “isms” when one didn’t like what someone else says. He spoke of 3 forms of societies: the first I don’t remember his term but it’s a totalitarian type where you are told what you can and can’t say think or do, Marxist where a few at the top control the majority and Autonomous where everyone is free to say what they want. And his question to those who like living in an autonomous society yet behave in ways such as you’re describing went something like this: How come on one hand you say that you like living in an autonomous society, while on the other hand anytime someone disagrees with you, you suddenly want to switch societies to a totalitarian one and punish me for holding a different view from you?
      I felt he nailed it.

  7. Jeannie says:

    I’ve really noticed this phenomenon lately too,Tim, particularly on Twitter: someone is very upset about an issue, which is perfectly fine, but then they call out their friends (e.g. “my progressive friends” or “my friends of the X tradition”) for not showing enough interest/anger/outrage about the issue. Some of them make it very personal: “I’m devastated”; “I’m talking to YOU” (although they don’t name names); “I see you, so-and-so.” Even if the issue is one that I care about, I can’t help but feel manipulated sometimes.

    • Tim says:

      It really is manipulation, Jeannie, 140 characters at a time. What if their friend who is not displaying the proper umbrage is sitting in the ER with a sick kid and they see a tweet calling them out as uncaring for not joining in Twitter outrage? That would not be helpful for the person at all.

    • Rev. Carlene Appel, MDiv. says:

      Jeannie,
      Seems to me that this must be the “techie” version of chain mail. Remember those, “send this to 50,000 of your closest friends. Please don’t break the chain. If this is not done in 10 days then_____________will happen.” Then we had chain e- mails. I deleted those. That’s all it is, manipulation. If they can’t handle the fact that not everybody thinks or feels or even cares about everything they do then so be it. If enough people refuse to be manipulated then perhaps they’ll realize that just because something devastates them doesn’t mean it automatically evokes feelings of devastation in others.

  8. Ruth says:

    And I was just going to express a sense of outrage at the lecture from the pulpit on Sunday! Darn, now I’ll have to post politely and gesticulate gently…..
    Our new pastor had given a short, rather incomplete talk on inequality between men and women, something our church has never indulged in before. I have to to say I felt small, anxious and betrayed but the poor, half put together information, when I was feeling confident, equal and free from woman as servile, man as master. HOWEVER, to lighten our mood, one woman commented after, that if Eve was made from man, and Adam was made from dirt, and where did that leave us in the creation confusion? No where deep, but feeling much better for a joke! We have decided to keep on keeping on, as before, but discuss it without outrage, and pray against a retrograde battle that seems to have started in our church. 🙏😳

    • Tim says:

      That sounds like quite a Sunday morning, Ruth. I hope clarity comes soon on what the leadership is doing and that they will see the need to affirm freedom in Christ and not pursue some sort of gender hierarchy.

Talk to me (or don't)

