Go For It. Or Don’t. A Scriptural Philosophy Of Life.

When Jesus told his friends “I am with you always” (Matthew 28:20), did you notice what he didn’t say? He didn’t say:

  • I am with you always … whenever you do things for me.
  • I am with you always … as long as you are trying your hardest.
  • I am with you always … so you better not slack off.

Jesus just said that he is always with you. Always.

He also told them that when it comes to freedom, “if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” (John 8:36.) He didn’t say:

  • You are free indeed … but only when you do things exactly as I say.
  • You are free indeed … but only if you pray and read the Bible every day.
  • You are free indeed … but only if you aren’t sinning.

Jesus just said you are free.

Doing and not doing

Jesus is with you always and sets you free indeed. What does this mean for the way you live your life? Let’s ask Yoda:

Do, or do not. There is no try.

But Yoda only gets you halfway there, because in Jesus it’s actually a matter of:

Do, or do not. Jesus is with you.

Does this mean you can sit like a slug and never do anything? No, but it does mean that when deciding between doing one thing or another – or not doing either – you don’t have to fear that only one choice keeps you in God’s favor because that’s not how it works in God’s kingdom.

So if you are ever considering some great opportunity and wonder whether you should pursue it or not, here’s my advice:

Go for it. Or don't. (Photo courtesy of Wikimedia.)

Go for it. Or don’t.
(Photo courtesy of Wikimedia.)

Go for it. Or don’t. God is with you either way.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Go For It. Or Don’t. A Scriptural Philosophy Of Life.

  1. Jeannie says:

    It almost doesn’t seem possible that we can experience that freedom and yet Jesus says it’s all there for us — because He’s with us. Amazing.

    • Tim says:

      Freedom in Jesus really is freedom. I love that our God tells us we can cast our cares on him. That includes cares about making decisions. He doesn’t want us to be worrying ourselves over those either.

  2. Bronwyn Lea says:

    My take away message from the Propel Women conference last week was “go for it.” Seeing this again today feels like Someone’s talking to me. Thanks, faithful messenger friend.

  3. “Does this mean you can sit like a slug and never do anything? No”
    That’s what I tried to tell Jabba the Hittite.

  4. Rebekah Hope says:

    The kind of Christianity I grew up with made finding God’s will into a formula of prayer and fasting and counsel with elders and pastors and more prayer, until you had an ulcer and second guessed yourself at every turn.

    But there is no formula. He does not abandon us.

    I still need the reminder. Thank you for this.

    • Tim says:

      “But there is no formula. He does not abandon us.”

      That is a wonderfully encouraging truth, Rebekah. I had the great blessing to read Gary Friesen’s “Decision Making and the Will of God” early on in my Christian life, and it helped me see the truth of what you’ve written in your comment.

  5. Emmy says:

    I like how you point out what Jesus *doesn’t* say, Tim. Sometimes when figuring out what something actually is, it’s so useful to weed out what it is not. I didn’t realise it, but as per Yoda’s advice, I tiink I may have some unlearning to do. 🙂

  6. This is EXACTLY the message I felt strongly in my spirit this past week when doing some looking ahead. So glad to hear another person of faith say it “out loud.”

  7. Pingback: Weekend Java 09.11.15 | Scribblepreach.com

  8. David Mosher says:

    Sometimes I am SO guilty of making God too small.. I needed that reminder today, Tim. Thanks, for re-posting your article.

Talk to me (or don't)

