Five Things I Don’t Understand

5 Things I Don’t Understand (in no particular order)

The more things I know, the more I know that I don’t know things.

Comprehending the Incomprehensible

The Bible has a lot in it that is hard to understand. Even Peter – a guy who lived with Jesus himself for three years – said there is a lot about God that is hard to understand. Paul, surely the most educated theological writer we find in the New Testament, even said that it is impossible for people to figure these things out on their own. But he went on to say that we are not on our own:

“What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived” — the things God has prepared for those who love him —these are the things God has revealed to us by his Spirit. (1 Corinthians 2:9-10.)

The Spirit is our help. Jesus said as much:

 “All this I have spoken while still with you. But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. (John 14:25-27.)

Do you see how Jesus added that part about not being troubled or afraid? At first I thought that was kind of odd. What does understanding have to do with fear?

As I thought about it more, I realized ignorance has a lot to do with fear. We fear the unknown, we fear being unprepared, we fear what we don’t understand.

Does this mean that we can now know all there is to know about God? No, because full understanding will come only when we see Jesus face to face. But we have the guidance of the Holy Spirit as we go from day to day, and he will see us through:

I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear. But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth. (John 16:12-13.)

Trusting God to see me through. Now that’s something I do understand.

***

When this post originally ran, Jeannie Prinsen (who blogs at Little House on the Circle) linked this 30 second video in her comment. It’s all about a guy who fears the worst when it comes to the unknown. And it’s a hoot.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five Things I Don’t Understand

  1. Life With Teens & Other Wild Things says:

    Don’t understand tattoos or don’t approve? There is a wide berth between the two. 🙂

    For those who embrace them, they are an expression, like writing and music for others, or a remembrance, or a reminder of where they’ve been, or for even others who seem to be less serious about life in general, just a lighthearted bit of art that makes them happy.

    It’s rather like interpretive dance or slam poetry, not everyone’s cup of tea, but cathartic, joyful, or just fun for those who enjoy taking part.

  2. Dee Parsons says:

    Did you ever read Perelandra by CS Lewis? There was a scene in that book that reminded me of these verses. I still didn’t quite get it!

  3. Pastor Bob says:

    “Trusting God to see me through. Now that’s something I do understand.”
    Said well here too:
    “Trust and obey,
    For there’s no other way
    To be happy in Jesus,
    But to trust and obey.”
    AND: “Never fear, only trust and obey.”

Talk to me (or don't)

