Writing Tips from Ernest Hemingway and Jack London on Inspiration

Karen Swallow Prior tweeted a link to some stats on word counts of accomplished writers;

Good choice, Karen. Hemingway only wrote 500 words per day. But I told her I’d go with Jack London even if he did try for three times as many words. Here’s why:

Jack London InspirationCall me wild, but here’s to clubbing some words down on paper today.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writing Tips from Ernest Hemingway and Jack London on Inspiration

  1. Oh yes! Writing a dissertation here. Deadline end of February for first draft! Just keep going!

  2. Jeannie says:

    I’m with Maya Angelou: “Nothing will work unless you do.” I find it hard sometimes to discipline myself to sit down and write, but I’m always glad when I do — at least then I have something to work on, edit, change, or even throw away, which I don’t have if I haven’t written anything!

    • Tim says:

      I read an interview with Angelou where she said she can go through 50 drafts before she’s finished with her writing. Talk about putting in the work.

  3. keriwyattkent says:

    Thanks, Tim, and Karen as well. I think what matters less than the word count is that you make a daily habit of writing. When I’ve done that, I’ve been productive. That may seem like a no-brainer, but it’s easy to let the discipline of daily writing slip. Appreciate the inspiration!

Talk to me (or don't)

