My Spiritual Birthday

[This day marks the day I was born. Not in the traditional sense. That actually comes in another 20 days. But in a much more real – in a truly eternal sense – this is the date of my birth. Here’s an updated post from the archives that explains it all … ]

***

Thirty-two years ago yesterday morning I was an atheist.

Thirty-two years ago yesterday afternoon I was a theist.

Thirty-two years ago today I became a Christian.

My Life as an Atheist

I grew up in the church. Sunday school as a kid, the church choir as a teen (the youngest male in the choir by decades), reading Scripture in the morning services.

By the time I hit my early twenties, my view on faith started shifting. After spending 2 1/2 years at a pair of community colleges I moved away to UC Santa Barbara. I thought I took my beliefs with me, but I was wrong.

Dead wrong ...

[The rest of this salvation story is just a click away.]

***

After you read the post, please come back here and join a conversation on having a relationship, or not, with God. Perhaps one of the questions below might help, but feel free to bring up anything that the post brought to mind:

Have you had radical changes in your belief in or understanding of God in your life?

What about the dinner conversation I had with my boss, the college Dean – have you had similar conversations on either end of that exchange?

What is God doing in your life at the moment?

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Spiritual Birthday

  1. Happy spiritual birthday Tim. It’s always interesting to read about other people’s stories of how they came to faith. It’s interesting the journey you took wasn’t just spiritual, but seemed to have a physical dimension to it.

    My own journey was more from a deist mindset. I didn’t really grow up in the church, but believed there was a god just not one too involved. My family wasn’t religious and never really talked about God, but somehow I believed in one anyhow. Even so I didn’t really have time for the Bible. Shortly before I did come to faith I remember saying “Why do I care what the Bible says?” in a conversation with a friend. They had thought I was a Christian since well I was always a bit of a rule follower and “nice guy”.

    It was a few months later when I was depressed and despairing over events that were going on in my life that God broke through. I didn’t hear an audible voice, but felt a voice say in my head, “You say you believe in me, but you don’t even know me.” That little encounter led me to find out more about God. So I asked my not very religious parents for a Bible for Christmas since it was only a short time away, and they bought one for me. That was how my relationship with God wound up getting started.

    • Tim says:

      That really fits the category of a radical change, Jeremy. And I am so glad your parents responded to your request the way they did. They might not have understood why, but they knew it was important to you to have a Bible.

  2. nmcdonal says:

    Encouraging to read your story this morning, Tim. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pastor Bob says:

    מזל דיין געבורסטאָג!
    Gratulerer med dagen!
    יום הולדת שמח!
    Alles Gute zum Geburtstag!
    Bon anniversaire!

    ¡Feliz cumpleaños!

    You probably knew this was coming from an intellectual.
    Remember,
    “We’ve no less to days to sing God’s praise, then when we’d first begun.”

  4. Jeannie says:

    What comes to mind for me is how unique everyone’s path to God is. God is so personal and individual, as we see with Jesus and the unique approach he took with every person he met. Thanks for sharing your story with us again, Tim.

    • Tim says:

      I know what you mean, Jeannie. My wife couldn’t point to a particular minute, day or even month she was saved, but she can point to Jesus as her Savior.

  5. Lisa Deam says:

    This is a great story, Tim. Thanks for sharing. You know, it reminds me of C. S. Lewis’s conversion story in Surprised by Joy. It’s been a few years since I read it, but I think Lewis was on a bus or a train. When he began the (bus or train) journey, he wasn’t a Christian; when he arrived, he was. Checkmate!

Talk to me (or don't)

