Captain Janeway’s Tips for Handling the Mansplain

Captain Janeway has a way with mansplaining men.

Janeway mansplain

***

There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. (Galatians 3:28.)

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Captain Janeway’s Tips for Handling the Mansplain

  1. James says:

    I’m none the wiser. I must be very thick!

  2. Brian Nisbet says:

    So many other verses ” seem” to have a bit more in there , my Niece really set me straight this summer ( she’s like 32 ,I’m 63 ) to a point ,I have some attitude that needs adjustment, she is right, BUT I did say to her , after discussing Marine landings in the Pacific and the ” NFL ” So let me get this right , there is a few bumps in the downstairs at 3:00 AM and your going to the bring the baseball bat down to just check things out? NOT your husband ?

    • Tim says:

      Thanks for commenting, Brian. Not sure what you’re saying as having to do with a person’s intellect, though, which is what this post concerns

  3. Brian Nisbet says:

    OMG I’m that guy , thanks Tim ,I’ll be in the kitchen just making a Salami sandwich.

  4. Opa Bear says:

    Thumbs up, Tim I keep myself plenty busy explaining myself to myself.

  5. Elizabeth Marie says:

    Okay, I’m sticking my neck out….. does mansplaining mean “a man who explains, like, forever?” That’s the first thing I thought of because my husband expounds on his explanations and expounds on his expounding and so on and so forth…. and I’m learning to become really good at “Oh My…. I forgot, I better go and…….” But did I get it right?

    That verse is sinking deep into my psyche so so comfortably…. it is powerful. Thank you, again.

    • Tim says:

      The Wikipedia article linked at the top describes it as “to explain something to someone, typically a man to woman, in a manner regarded as condescending or patronizing.” It’s the condescending or patronizing aspect – often perceived as coming because the man feels the woman is incapable of understanding without this explanation – that is key.

  6. The man’s own insecurity and need to confirm that he is, indeed, better than woman, and that woman keeps her place below him often play into mansplaining, as well.

Talk to me (or don't)

