The Easy Way To Do Wrong

 

Wrong Things 2Doing what we think right, whether it is or not, is as old as time. From the early days of the nation God gathered together:

In those days Israel had no king; everyone did as they saw fit. (Judges 21:25.)

through the establishment of a kingdom for God’s people:

A person may think their own ways are right, but the Lord weighs the heart. (Proverbs 21:2.)

The point is not that people need a king, but that we need the King,

God, the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords. (1 Timothy 6:15.)

After all,

As for God, his way is perfect. (Psalm 18:30.)

So rather than talk myself into thinking that the bad I do is not so bad, I’d rather be guided by the one whose ways are perfect.

But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. (John 14:26.)

Following the counsel of the Holy Spirit is not bad at all.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Easy Way To Do Wrong

  1. Pastor Bob says:

    We minimize our failings,
    We embellish our accomplishments,
    We tend to minimize the offers of others in the group event,
    We cover up the failings,
    We exemplify the failings of others,
    And yet wonder:

    Where is God?

    On the other side of the door.

  2. Jeannie says:

    This morning at our Bible study we read 2 Peter 3:5, where Peter says the scoffers “deliberately forget” that God created the universe with his word etc. I thought that phrase was really telling — and applicable to what you’re writing here too. We justify ourselves in what we’re doing, sometimes by “deliberately forgetting” what we know to be true.

  3. It works the other way, too. If I have a low opinion of myself, I can believe that I never do anything right. I used to be like that all the time! Until I learned that God bestows on me a dignity beyond reason. What an awesome God we serve!

    • Tim says:

      SO true, Sandy. We can talk ourselves into thinking quite lowly of ourselves, when the truth is we are seated with Jesus in the heavens. (Eph. 2:6.) You can’t get to a higher status than that.

Talk to me (or don't)

