God Doesn’t Yell At His Kids

God the father sees you the same way he looks upon Jesus because you have the very same glory Jesus has, and God loves you with the very same love he loves Jesus with.

I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one – I in them and you in me – so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me. (John 17:22-23.)

Jesus was clear: God already loves you, his child, even as he loves Jesus. This is something that brings God glory and it is fully in you now.

For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and in Christ you have been brought to fullness. (Colossians 2:9-10.)

God’s will is already fulfilled in you by Jesus, the will that desires and makes you truly holy in his sight right now because of Jesus’ sacrifice.

And by [God’s] will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all. (Hebrews 10:10.)

God your Father looks on you with the same love he has had had for Jesus, God the Son, for all eternity. And it is eternally yours now too. It doesn’t depend on whether you are good enough, or remember not to sin, or feel really bad when you do wrong things. It depends on much more than that.

It depends on Jesus.

The good news of the gospel of Jesus is that everything you need to depend on him has already been done and it will never be undone. You are your Heavenly Father’s beloved child in this very moment and forever.

***

God doesn’t say, “You kids better not misbehave, I mean it!”

God tells his children, “I love you and I am so glad you are in my family. You remind me of Jesus, every one of you!”

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to God Doesn’t Yell At His Kids

  1. susan furst says:

    My Father always amazes me, when I am at my lowest he reaches out to me from a post from you or from fb or from a friend that is totally relevant and specific to my situation. It is like he is speaking to me directly healing my broken places. Thank you Father praise your Holy Name! You are a God of Surprises Another name for you that speaks of your character!

  2. Shalini says:

    Absolutely Tim! Nothing’s gonna change His love for me! Yay! That is one of the MOST powerful and liberating truths in the Word. But back in my city, the most popular teaching doing the rounds is that even as we are deliberately sinning (say are entangled in an adulterous relationship) God is still pleased and smiling at us because of Jesus. It’s nothing to do with us making God-honoring choices, because He has done it all. I don’t even know how we got here Tim. Sigh. The modern ‘grace revelation’ camp specializes in this kind of thing. And if someone were to say that the Lord asks us to walk wisely, allowing His Holy Spirit to enable us to live lives pleasing in His sight, they will slap the label of legalism on you. We seem to swing between two extremes – legalism and licentiousness! May we stay clear of both as we walk with the King who loves us with an everlasting love!

    • Tim says:

      I was reading a post the other day that spoke of how both legalism and licentiousness deny the grace of God. God doesn’t condemn us in our sin, since we are new creations in Christ even now, but he does desire that we follow Jesus and not our own or the world’s ways.

      • susan furst says:

        But the grace is that much sweeter when we sin and sometimes willfully, when we can go back to that space of grace and feel his arms wrapped around us and know that we were wrapped in his arms all along. That to me is the sweetness of grace. The amazing grace that we are all blessed to know once we believe NO MATTER WHAT

  3. Opa Bear says:

    A great comfort, Tim. Thank you.

Talk to me (or don't)

