Finding Rest on a Sunday Morning

Jesus is your Sabbath rest.
Always … forever … and always.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28.)

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding Rest on a Sunday Morning

  1. I have come to realise that a day of rest is a necessity. It’s something that seems to be overlooked by even some devout people, who would not dream of contravening the rest of the 10 commandments. We find we may not be at work (in the sense of paid employment) but we instead fill the time with more ‘jobs’. The Sabbath (and I don’t believe it has to be a certain day) is our gift. I have read Mark 2:27,28 many times, but it was only last year that I realised that this is the case. I give myself a day off once a week – while the children are at school – and I like to keep Sundays as a day focused on God and family. I tried to keep Sunday as a day of rest, but actually for me, what with travelling to and from church and taking my dear mother-in-law out, it was not possible. A day of rest allows me to ‘recharge’, I find. I then go about my tasks the following days with more vigour and certainly more enthusiasm. I would not have chosen to be a housewife, but with a day of rest I am able to give it my best. The Sabbath is a gift, perhaps oft overlooked, but as beneficial as Jesus’ gift of the wine and the bread. It gives us space from all the ‘oughts’ that can creep in!

Talk to me (or don't)

