Abraham Lincoln on Integrity in Politics

The Internet abounds with political news, opinions and gibes. You won’t find any of that in this post. Instead, I offer wisdom from Abraham Lincoln on campaigning.

Lincoln Integrity

“I am not bound to win, but I am bound to be true.”

I hope to remember this every moment of every day, even though I’m not involved in political campaigns. I am bound to be true because I am bound to the one who is truth himself.

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life.”
(John 14:6.)

Let us be true as God is true, eternally and always.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Abraham Lincoln on Integrity in Politics

  1. Laura Droege says:

    This is a wonderful quote, Tim.

    (As an aside, it’s great that you don’t have to campaign to be a judge. In Alabama, some of the judges are elected, and it’s awful. Each one promises that he/she is hard on crime, etc., while that horrible, dastardly opponent lets horrible, dastardly criminals walk free.)

    • Tim says:

      Judges are elected officials in California too, serving 6 year terms on the trial bench and 12 year terms for the Courts of Appeal and Supreme Court. Most judges get on the bench by Governor’s appointment – although joining the bench by election occurs as well – and typically we are unopposed when a new term comes along. I was appointed in 1995 and was unopposed in 1996 and 2002 and 2014. The only time I had to run a campaign was in 2008 when an attorney filed to run against me. I won reelection with 76.3% of the vote.

      They type of campaigning you describe is not what we usually see in California judicial campaigns, probably because the canons of judicial ethics in our state keep rein on what is and isn’t allowed.

Talk to me (or don't)

