The Worthiness of Tears

If we must cry tears, let them fall because our toil was worthy and our work was noble - Doug Bursch, @fairlyspiritual

If we must cry tears, let them fall because our toil was worthy and our work was noble – Doug Bursch, @fairlyspiritual

This worthy toil and the noble work is the same Jesus announced as his own:

He stood up to read, and the scroll of the prophet Isaiah was handed to him. Unrolling it, he found the place where it is written:

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
    because he has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
    and recovery of sight for the blind,
to set the oppressed free,
    to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”
(Luke 4:16-19.)

As Jesus’ follower you are called to the same work, the same toil, and can join Paul in saying:

… my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me – the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace. (Acts 20:24.)

Let your testimony of God’s grace be in word and deed. And if it brings you tears? Then you will know that such tears are born of a worthy and noble task.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Worthiness of Tears

  1. The tears I have had for my late husband are worth it–part of my sanctification. Yesterday I talked with a bitter caregiver and encouraged her.

  2. Bev Murrill says:

    That is one of the most profound and empowering quotes I’ve read for a long time.

  3. Opa Bear says:

    I say amen to all the above. I have never heard tears spoken of like this.

Talk to me (or don't)

