A Sunday lesson on finding home

Home can be a place and it can be a state of mind. Mostly, though, home is found in people, both yourself and those who matter to you. Even more, perhaps, home is found where there are people who say you matter to them. As Kelsey Lewis put it, “Home is faces more than places.”

image

There is one face above all that tells you you’re home:

The Lord bless you
and keep you;
the Lord make his face shine on you
and be gracious to you;
the Lord turn his face toward you
and give you peace. (Numbers 6:24-26.)

You matter to God. When you see his face, you know you’re home.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Sunday lesson on finding home

  1. Jeannie Prinsen says:

    I agree with Kelsey’s statement. I know that some people do get very attached to place, but for me, ultimately it is the people. We are selling our family home and it is difficult, but not as hard as I expected, because it no longer feels like “home” to us, at least to me, without the presence of the people who made it home.

    • Tim says:

      I agree too, Jeannie. My Dad finally sold the house I grew up in a few years ago and now when I drive by it I have no particular feelings about it. It’s not the structure that made it my home, but my family. Now someone else’s family lives there and that makes it their home, not mine.

  2. Bill M says:

    Your post reminds me of places I have revisited that I had fond memories of, many are group camping expeditions over the decades. The visits evoke pleasant memories, but the places have little life in them when the friends that originally accompanied me are not there.

    • Tim says:

      I’ve gone back to some places and wondered what was so special about them, but when I think of the people the specialness comes right back.

Talk to me (or don't)

