How Not To Get Your Point Across

I love making these cards!

This happens in my courtroom sometimes and I end up thinking, “Yes, I get your point. I got it the first time you said it, and the second, and the third, and … .”

But what I say is, “Interesting point. Is there anything new you’d like to bring to my attention?”

I’m subtle that way. Or maybe not.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Not To Get Your Point Across

  1. Richard says:

    Wish the judges I run into in my profession had your temperament. Some of my judges do a lot of yelling as well.

  2. Laura Droege says:

    Subtle as a porcupine’s quills. 🙂 Seriously, I’ve run into a number of people who continue to explain their point long after I’ve understood it, and it comes across as demanding that I agree with them and a trifle disrespectful, as if perhaps I’m too dumb to understand the first time around. If a porcupine sticks even one quill in my skin, I’m going to understand what it intends me to understand: go away and leave me alone, human!

Talk to me (or don't)

