Women: You Were Made To Be Bold

Amber D’Ann Picota’s wisdom on who you really are:

Amber D'Ann Picota

From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked. (Luke 12:48.)

Be bold in doing good with all God has given you. It’s what you’re made for.

***

[This goes for men too, of course, but men aren’t the ones being held back by a culture that tells them to sit down and let others lead.]

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Women: You Were Made To Be Bold

  1. Bev Murrill says:

    Amen and amen. thanks Tim.

  2. Made to bring glory to God, indeed.

  3. amen and thank you….

  4. Pastor Bob says:

    Overheard on the bus,
    “I have my husband do this, after all it is the man’s job.”
    Younger woman talking to another young woman. Hardly the the age of “traditional” thinking.

    My counseling mentor stressed “different but equal.”
    Some gender roles are irrevocable.
    Some gender roles are becasue God made us a certain way, simply better than the other.
    Some gender roles are done the one with better skills.
    Some gender roles are done by those who like it.
    Some gender roles are “reversible,” this may be area of the most friction.

    Different but equal, key words.

  5. ‘Be bold’ is easier said than done. I don’t really know how. Girls are taught not to be bold, right from the start. I have done my best to equip my daughters (13 and 10) with independence and self-knowledge so that they won’t be taken in, as I was. They are not taught to obey without question, as my father taught me. I don’t think my father meant anything bad but it translated in my head and heart into ‘might equals right’ and that is destructive. It’s a difficult balance, bringing up children. We aim for independent but not defiant and selfish. I point out to them where attitudes to boys and girls are wrong, or hypocritical. Boys still get away with things that girls would never do, or would be heavily sanctioned for doing. I also try to make them see the objectification of females present in popular culture, for example I refused to buy school trousers (by which I mean trousers designed to be worn as school uniform) with the label of ‘Miss Sexy’. I’m still gobsmacked that these even exist and are marketed at schoolgirls! My daughter was 11 when she was first ‘propositioned’ by an older boy.
    Anyway, I’ve gone off on a tangent. Excellent post, Tim. The church needs more men like you. Indeed, the global church needs more people of privilege, whatever privilege that may be, to voluntarily stand in solidarity with the oppressed. That would make a good blog post, wouldn’t it?

    • Tim says:

      I like Amber’s take on doing what you are made for and not waiting for anyone’s approval. That’s one way to be bold.

      It sounds like you are raising up your daughters to recognize when they are being put under unreasonable expectations, sfk, and that’s another tool that leads to boldness: know what’s right and exercise the freedom to pursue it.

    • Pastor Bob says:

      Te recognized authority is to obeyed.
      NOT the stranger.

      I have earned a level of trust and should be obeyed by non family children who know me. Same with adults.

      BUT if unknown, the issue gets trickier.

      • Tim says:

        Obeyed? Perhaps attended to for counsel, but obeyed, PB? I obey secular authorities and I obey Christ.

        • Pastor Bob says:

          THE (typo, hope you figured it out) includes:
          -police who identify as such
          -civil authorities
          -teachers
          -delegated leaders

          As I tried to stress, children and adults who know me know that my instructions are given for a reason. Those who do not know me are understandably reluctant.

          Blind obedience should not be stressed in childhood. There was a time when the adult miscreant was very rare. Not any more. This topic can occupy volumes – hope this clears up a little.

  6. Suzanne Burden says:

    Tim: I’ve never met you in person, but I feel like you are a friend. The negative messages women receive are so consistent at times (especially when leading in the church), and your voice speaks healing, help, and encouragement so often. THANK YOU.

  7. MeganC says:

    I have always been guilty of this. I am small and have a “little girl” voice. I want to be bolder and not allow others to see me as mousy. It is part of why I am an introvert. Thank you for this encouragement! I needed it!

  8. MeganC says:

    PS — Posted on Give Her Wings

  9. Adriana says:

    Thank you for this.

Talk to me (or don't)

