Why the internet is wearing me down, and what I’m doing about it

words about the Bible 2

Sarah Beals posted today an insightful reflection on the influence the internet has been having on her. It’s personal and yet I found myself nodding along in agreement. She closes with resources and tips for finding ways to be built up rather than worn down online, including some Bible study tools (hence her quote in that meme above, which is taken from her point about not allowing commentaries to become a substitute for Scripture itself).

Her post begins:

I have to be honest. This year, I’ve grown tired of the online world. I’m increasingly aware of the “rudiments of the world” that seem to stick into my heart and mind by what I see on Facebook, the news, and other social media and it’s wearing me down.

Read the rest at Why the internet is wearing me down, and what I’m doing about it and you’ll likely find yourself agreeing with just about every line.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why the internet is wearing me down, and what I’m doing about it

  1. VelvetVoice says:

    I’m trying to break my addiction to the internet, some day I’ll probably just disappear! In the meantime, how do you remain so non-judgmental even when you disagree? I guess that’s the lawyer and judge in you. You’re a good example to me.

    • Tim says:

      Believe me, V V, I get plenty judgmental. I’ve just been trained through my decades in this job to put a muzzle on it.

  2. SJBeals says:

    Thanks for sharing. I am slow to self discovery, but I should have known better on this one. I am very sensitive to violence on the screen, so this should have been a no BRAINER. More Word, less media for this girl.

Talk to me (or don't)

