Hiding in Love’s Corner

[From Dorothy L. Sayers’ Busman’s Honeymoon (1937).]

“You’re cold, Peter. Come nearer the fire.”

“It’s not cold,” he said, half-angrily, “it’s my rotten nerves. I can’t help it. … I hate behaving like this. I tried to stick it out by myself.”

“But why should you?”

He stood holding out his hands mechanically to the fire till he could control the chattering of his teeth.

“It’s damnable for you too. I’m sorry. I’d forgotten. That sounds idiotic. But I’ve always been alone.”

“Yes, of course. I’m like that, too.  I like to crawl away and hide in a corner.”

“Well,” he said … , “you’re my corner and I’ve come to hide.”

***

You too can hide in Love’s corner:

You are my hiding place;
    you will protect me from trouble
    and surround me with songs of deliverance.
(Psalm 32:7.)

***

Hiding in Love's Corner***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hiding in Love’s Corner

  1. What a beautiful picture that paints! 😀

  2. One of my absolutely favorite series of books. (I love Peter and Harriet.)
    And, yes. I have loved that image–and that close relationship– for years. Miss Sayers gave us two wonderful characters, who said and did some marvelous things.

    • Tim says:

      I just finished a re-read of the series from Whose Body to Busman’s Honeymoon, and will start back through the short stories soon. Sayers’ prose carries me with its strength and beauty.

      • You make me want to re-read them right away. I especially love Peter and Harriet, but even the minor characters are fully formed. Just like we are eavesdropping on intimate conversations or catching people in the middle of things (in medias res). I truly enjoy Miss Sayers’ impeccably crafted writing.

  3. Ruth says:

    I have a series of tattered covered books on my shelf, everyone a sought-after copy of Dorothy Sayers. Gleaned from new copies, second hand on Amazon and from scouring old book shops. They are precious friends that I have read countless times.
    I knew those lines even before I had finished reading the quote…
    Bunter does my heart good as I read his conversations and thoughts. As for Harriet Vane and Peter Wimsey….the best and truest story of the heart, head, searching, commitment, vulnerability, and finally trust and surrender…..2am and I’m off to my bookshelf to read Busmans Honeymoon again! Thank you for sharing……..can’t wait to start!

Talk to me (or don't)

