How Could I Miss the Point of the Father’s Day Sermon?

(From the archives)

***

Last Sunday was Father’s Day and my wife and I sat in church together listening to a guest speaker give a message about parents and children and God’s love. During the sermon a father was walking his fussing baby up and down the aisle while trying to listen to the guest speaker. The baby was not screaming, but not whimpering quietly either. It kept up for the entire sermon. Rather than rejoice with the child that she has a father who loves her so much he’d lift her in his arms and carry her about the sanctuary to comfort her, I wondered how long it would be before he stepped out into the lobby.

Yep, I completely missed the point of the sermon. Not the point of the sermon being delivered from the pulpit, but the sermon being delivered in the aisle right next to me. I missed that this baby is blessed to have a father who cares so much for her.

I get it now though. We have a Father who loves us so much that he gave his Son for us, his perfect Child. The Son died so that we can love our Father in response to the love he has for us.

We love because he first loved us. (1 John 4:19.)

That’s a message I never want to miss.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Could I Miss the Point of the Father’s Day Sermon?

  1. Pastor Bob says:

    I watched a man say some strange things to his children, I saw him speak oddly to his wife. BUT when there was a need, Daddy was there. The baby needed something – BOOM – he was there. Daughter had a problem he was there to help and bring resolution.

    After some time the strange I first saw was personality quirks (we all have them) and what I understood with weaker Spanish skills. Bottom line, he was everything a good father was supposed to be.

    Los padres larga vida!

    • Tim says:

      It just shows that how things work in one family might look different from how they work in another, but there are lots of ways they can work well for everyone.

Talk to me (or don't)

