Women? Ha! Who needs ’em?

[From the archives.]

Back in college I had a particularly painful break-up. It wasn’t painful for her. She told me we were not going out any more and started dating another guy. But I’m not really sure of the chronology. She might have started dating the other guy and then told me we were done.

How did I respond? Perhaps not so surprisingly, I wrote. It’s not pretty, but here it is:

Women! Who needs them? Not me. All they do is take your heart and wad it up into a little ball and throw it on the floor and stomp on it. Well, you can try that with some other poor sap, but don’t try it around me. I’m done with women.

I was dating someone new within a month.

God’s Plan Includes Women? Who Knew?

God spent six days creating everything and repeatedly pronounced every day’s creation to be good. At the end, he looked on all he had made and said it was very good. It’s a bit surprising, then, to read:

The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.” …

So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and then closed up the place with flesh. Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. (Genesis 2:18, 21-22, emphasis added.)

Something in all that was very good was not good? Odd, that. But God knew what to do. He made a companion for the man. Did you notice that God did not make another man, a buddy that Adam could pal around with?* Good thing, too, because I imagine a world full of men without women would look like the campfire scene from Blazing Saddles.**

But here’s the thing. I don’t think God created Eve solely for Adam’s benefit, nor (as some people teach) that women are here just so men can marry them. Rather, it is not good for all of creation that man was here without woman.

So who needs women? All of creation, including you.

Who needs men? All of creation, including you.

And most importantly, who needs the God who created both women and men?

All of creation, including you.

***

*I didn’t notice this either until it was pointed out in a sermon I recently heard.

**Keep in mind, flatulence is biblical.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Women? Ha! Who needs ’em?

  1. And it is so complicated these days if you don’t include God’s plan! LGBT reigns! There are the Misogynists who hate women and the Misandrists who hate men. Have you heard of
    Migtow (Men Going Their Own Way) and they are on YouTube explaining their position!

Talk to me (or don't)

