Update #8 on my Father: prayers for settling into a new home

Dad has been in his new assisted living apartment since Thursday. I spent the first two nights with him, but after the second night it was clear he was starting to catch on to the process of using the assistance provided. He’s been on his own overnight the past two nights and done fine.

Dad in 2011

Dad in 2011

Of course we’ve still been visiting with him for large chunks of the day but I think the place is starting to feel like home to him. It helps that his new apartment has the exact same layout as the one he had in Pacifica, which meant we were able to set up the furniture the same way he had it before.

Dad also met with his new primary care doctor last Friday and they hit it off well. She has made referrals for continued physical, speech and occupational therapy to help him with his recovery from the fall. (See Head and Heart at 92 Years Old for the background on Dad’s accident.) The therapists will come from a home health provider, so he won’t have to travel to these appointments. They will come to him and work with him in his home.

To show you how far he has come, as I sat down to write this update I got a phone call from him. A month ago the neurosurgeon was saying Dad’s cognitive abilities might never recover enough for him to even be able to hold a conversation, let alone be able to live on his own with mere assisted living.

Dad is getting stronger both physically and mentally every day. It’s a slow process and – at 92 years old – he might never get to where he was before the accident, but he is showing progress beyond what I had been led to expect. This is a blessing for him and for the whole family.

Speaking of family, if you missed the updates on how much my wife has done to get Dad to this point, please read updates three and four. She’s been greater than great and I’d appreciate your prayers of thanks for her and for continued strength in her efforts as well.

We’re going to have lunch with Dad in a couple hours and visit with him for a bit. Also, my sister is flying in at noon and will be able to stay with Dad for a couple days. They do this a lot so it will help Dad feel even more at home with her as his house guest sleeping on the pull out sofa.

Thanks everyone for continued prayers. Your encouragement has meant everything to me.

Tim

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Update #8 on my Father: prayers for settling into a new home

  1. Thanks for another update, Tim — great to hear this encouraging news.

  2. Clearly your father and family have been blessed by the One who not only hears our petitions but graciously responds in miraculously personal ways.

    Thank you, Lord. You are so very gracious…

  3. Velour says:

    I’m always moved by how your family has each others’ backs. From your dad’s accident to your daughter’s car accident in Southern California (and getting her the new car).

    Give your wife the runner our love and hugs. She’s awesome.

  4. Tara says:

    Tim, So glad to hear your dad is adapting. I’m convinced it’s survival of the adaptable over the fittest. I am a home health occupational therapist and moreover, we facilitated a move to assisted living for my in-laws this year and are moving my mom to the independent condos at another retirement community (yes that’s both parents in the same year). I understand the system and its objectives. Please feel free to reach out with questions.

  5. That’s great news! Celebrating with you (and saluting your wife! 🙂 )

  6. Wonderful to hear the good news. God’s blessings on your dad, and I pray encouragement tor your whole family. @chaplaineliza

  7. Adriana says:

    He called you on the phone! What a delight! 😀 Thanking God with you right now for his goodness and mercy! I pray all continues to go well. Many good memories in store for your dad and the whole family. I’m so very glad for you all.

  8. Aimee Byrd says:

    Great news, Tim! I love how you add prayers of thanks for your wife to your requests.

    You’ve got one fighter of a dad!

  9. DragonLady says:

    I am so glad to hear how well your dad is recovering and settling in. 🙂

  10. Jennifer says:

    Yay! I am glad that things are going well, Tim. My sisters and I went through this with both parents’ illnesses related to aging. It is not easy. Hugs to you all.

  11. Pingback: How I Got by with a Lot of Help from My Friends | Tim's Blog – Just One Train Wreck After Another

Talk to me (or don't)

