What if I gave a party and nobody came? A look at 4 years of blogging:

4 years

1365 posts

Thousands and thousands of comments

And it all started with this post. As one kind person commented, that first day was like throwing a blog-warming party.

You should be careful what parties you go to, though. You never know where you’ll end up. I’ll let Tom Jones and the Stereophonics explain:

Party on, Tom.

Coming To This Place to Party Can Be A Bit Dicey

Some posts seem to be party central here. The ones that have gotten the most comments and traffic are:

  1. Being a responsible Bible reader even if a famous pastor says you should just take his word for it,
  2. Why I gave up on convincing atheists,
  3. A post on the fallacy of Biblical womanhood,
  4. Another on why women are better than ladies any day, and
  5. Why school shootings have not convinced me to carry a loaded weapon.

Who do I think I am to be writing on subjects as important as Scripture, firearms, gender politics and faith (or lack thereof)?

I’m just me, that’s who.

And that scares me when I stop to look at myself.

Many times we say that we give God all the glory for where we are, or what we have. But we are mere pretenders, publicly displaying modesty while secretly relishing the praise for ourselves. So cleverly deceptive in this art are we that we can convince even ourselves. (Aimee Byrd, Housewife Theologian, p. 234.)

Is there no hope for a blogger like me, one who is apt to relish the praise for myself (because, after all, if I don’t relish it who will)? Yes.

But we are more likely following our calling when we recognize our complete incompetence and utter dependence on God through Christ. … With my own materials and my own efforts, I only end up building the Tower of Babel, but if Jesus Christ has called me to be a part of what he is building, I have full confidence that “he who began a good work in [me] will complete it until the day of Christ.” (Id.)

What if?

This reminds me of the question “What if I threw a party and nobody came?” but I’d change it to “What if I threw a blog but nobody came?”

Doesn’t matter, that’s what if.

God is always with me. Can you come up with a better guest list for a party than that? Or a better list of readers than the Father, Son and Holy Spirit?

Yet I still get caught up in numbers of readers and views and comments and likes and shares and …

  • “Why hasn’t anyone visited the post I wrote? No one has commented yet, and I published it a whole three and a half minutes ago!”
  • “Where have all the readers gone? This site was getting a ton of traffic earlier today. I wonder if people stopped reading just because it’s past midnight and most people decided to go to bed. Don’t they know that reading my blog is way more important than sleep?”
  • “Twitter, Facebook … Facebook, Twitter … where are people most likely to see my writing and then click to read it? Why can’t someone tell me?!”

Deep breath, deeeeeep breath. In fact, try the very Breath of Heaven, the Spirit of Christ himself. Because counting on acquiring things without counting on God is foolishness.

So let me count up what I’ve acquired with God these four years of blogging:

A better understanding of grace.

Several new friends who come by to visit and who I get to visit at their blogs.

The knowledge that God has used this year to show me (and others) who he is through my writing.

Thanks for coming to the party.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What if I gave a party and nobody came? A look at 4 years of blogging:

  1. Ed Darrell says:

    Maybe give up on convincing theists, might work better.

    There’s a real art to persuading people to a point of view. Most people just don’t want to look. They might learn, might be enlightened.

    Opening doors to information others may not have, or may not have considered, that allows them to walk through the door if they choose. And if THEY choose, rather than your pushing them through, they’re more likely to walk through eyes opened, and ready to justify their having walked through.

    I throw my hands up at “convincing” anyone. But I’ll show where the doors are, maybe tell what’s on the other side of the door, and leave it unlocked. Maybe I’ll open it a bit.

    But convince? You’ll never reason a person out of a position to which that person did not arrive by reason. You can’t convince a theist of non-theism. Similarly, you can’t emote someone out of a position they didn’t get to by emotion. So you can’t convince a non-theist of theism.

    Just open the door. Or, nail a white paper to the door.

  2. FW Rez says:

    What a great party it is! Don’t frequently have anything to add in the way off comments but I always appreciate your articles. Looking forward to year five.

  3. Opa Bear says:

    Hi, Tim, I’ve been following you for 2-plus years, I believe. It’s been a true pleasure, and I’ve gained much in my faith. I sure would miss you and hope you keep blogging for a long time to come. Blessings!

  4. Kate Wallace Nunneley says:

    Thanks for blogging Tim! Keep up the great work!

  5. Ruth says:

    Don’t stop blogging, or wonder who reads and agrees or disagrees. You have given much for deep thought and discussion, enlightened on many topics, been a true friend to many…count me as one of them….and cleared some murky corners of confusion for us.
    My husband doesn’t read blogs, but I share a lot of what you write, and he enjoys our discussions, and appreciates the way you get involved with readers by sharing kindness and prayer with many.
    You even let me rattle on about my crazy life and experiences, a brave thing to do! Yes, I talk a lot, blog a lot, pray a lot, and immensely enjoy your considered, kind, but firm reactions to topics and responses.
    So after all the stress and pain of your dad and his health scare, take a deep breath, relax and enjoy us enjoying your work and friendship, and go easy on yourself. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!!!

  6. Ruth says:

    Great party by the way!

  7. Adriana says:

    Glad to know you’re not planning on wrapping up the party any time soon, Tim, because the internet wouldn’t be the same without you. Blog-on!

  8. michellevl says:

    Amen, Adriana! Glad you’re here, Tim. May your sometimes-punny, sometimes-serious, always-God-honoring posts continue for many years to come!

Talk to me (or don't)

