Christians and Costumes – thoughts apropos to Halloween

[This post from the archives isn’t specifically about Halloween, but it is about costumes and masks.]

***

In one The Lizzie Bennet Diaries videos, there’s a line that hit me between the eyes:

“Everyone’s wearing a costume every day.”

I know I do. Wear a costume, that is. It’s expected of me. I call it my black muumuu.

Three people in black muumuus
(none of whom are me)

The thing is, people wear other types of costumes too, the kind we can’t see on the outside, the kind people use to mask their true selves from the world. Some even think they can hide from God:

Woe to those who go to great depths to hide their plans from the Lord, who do their work in darkness and think, “Who sees us? Who will know?” (Isaiah 29:15.)

They say, “How would God know? Does the Most High know anything?” (Psalm 73:11.)

It doesn’t work:

Who can hide in secret places so that I cannot see them?” declares the Lord. “Do not I fill heaven and earth?” declares the Lord. (Jeremiah 23:24.)

Life Out In The Open

Jesus, the God who fills heaven and earth, lived his life right out in the open. His accusers, on the other hand, thought the cover of darkness would be their friend:

Every day I was with you in the temple courts, and you did not lay a hand on me. But this is your hour—when darkness reigns. (Luke 22:53.)

I try to hide sometimes. I hide from my family and friends, I hide from people at work, and I hide from folks on the street or in restaurants or at the store. I do not always show them who I really am. Frankly, I don’t know what I can do about that except pray for God to open me up more and more to reflect Jesus and who he is in my life. Because that’s what it means to be a true person: I am who God intends me to really be because I am in Christ. And when I live my life in that truth, I join in Jesus’ ways and what was written about him:

Because the Sovereign Lord helps me, I will not be disgraced. Therefore have I set my face like flint, and I know I will not be put to shame.

He who vindicates me is near. Who then will bring charges against me? Let us face each other! Who is my accuser? Let him confront me!

It is the Sovereign Lord who helps me. Who will condemn me? They will all wear out like a garment; the moths will eat them up. (Isaiah 50:7-9.)

The Sovereign Lord helps me, who will condemn? Whoever does is just going to wear out like an old moth-eaten sweater, tattered and ragged. Why should I hide myself from them?

Jesus, on the other hand, is forever, and if I’m going to wear something I’m glad it’s Jesus:

For all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. (Galatians 3:27.)

Clothed in Jesus? That’s nothing to hide.

***

Questions to ponder: Do you ever hide behind a mask*? How do you handle it when you catch yourself doing this?

***

*Best mask photo I’ve seen in a long time. What a hoot!

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christians and Costumes – thoughts apropos to Halloween

  1. I am also (re) testing your link here, Tim, bc I tried to comment earlier: anyway, what I said was first in response to that mask in the Awkward Photos pic: it looks like one we used to have as kids! My brothers & I would just basically rotate the same 3 or 4 costumes (“I want to be Zorro this time!”).

    The part about masking ourselves is true, too — and sad, that we so often feel we need to hide from others & the One who already fully knows us. I just read Glennon Melton’s Love Warrior, and she talks about how, for so many years, she used to “send her representative” (her fake self) out into situations bc she was too afraid to show her real self — and how long it took her to realize she was safe and accepted and could finally be who she really was.

    • Tim says:

      Sending my representative is a perfect description of what I’ve often done too, Jeannie.

      And when’s it gonna be my turn to be Zorro?

Talk to me (or don't)

