The quality I’d like isn’t found in a Facebook quiz

I took a Facebook quiz – one of those where a website looks at your Facebook information and comes up with some supposed insights about you – and it gave me this:

qualitiesNot bad, right?

You might think that last one is a stretch, but it’s based on reality. In high school I was voted class clown. True story and well-earned. I’m not so clownish any longer, I suppose, and I’d also say those other points aren’t what I’d choose for self-description either. Who knows; maybe that website’s algorithm has better insights on me than I do?

When it comes to qualities I’d like, though, I wouldn’t choose the ones in that graphic first. It’s not that they’re bad qualities. They just aren’t my first pick.

Quality Picks

If I were to choose qualities I’d like to see in myself I’d go with this list:

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. (Galatians 5:22-23.)

This fruit is what leads to the good traits in that fun graphic above, but they also lead to so much more. This is fruit born of God the Holy Spirit. This is fruit – the work of God in us – that makes it possible for us to say we are found in the Son and desire to be identified with him always. It is this fruit that shows the love of God in our lives as we in turn love those around us in fulfillment of Jesus’ final words to his friends and followers.

A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another. (John 13:34-35.)

The quality I want more than any is love. After all, God always loves me and it is his love that gives me a desire to even try to love others.

We love because he first loved us. (John 4:19.)

That’s better than the results of a Facebook quiz any day.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The quality I’d like isn’t found in a Facebook quiz

  1. Teresa Spivey says:

    I wholeheartedly agree that all those quizzes are a waste of time, and not usually even amusing. I also hope to reflect the fruits of the Spirit.

  2. Tim, I definitely think you exhibit the fruit of the Spirit in your life and your online interactions. The good news is that we don’t have to do it ourselves, it’s not OUR fruit, but the Spirit’s in us. The Spirit does all the heavy lifting, we just need to stay connected and abide. Love grows in us when we receive love from God. (or that’s how it works ideally. So often I get in the way and am anything but patient, especially online.
    Sometimes God sends me some not so subtle reminders to simply love. I had gotten into some strong debate with a Facebook acquaintance who supports a candidate that I do not. A few days later, she posted something else about the fact that she’d lost her daughter a year ago. I was reminded of that quote about “everyone you meet is fighting a great battle.” Suddenly, I had compassion for this person whom I’d previously seen as an adversary simply because she disagreed with me politically. I saw her humanity, and my own stubbornness, and how ridiculous it is to argue politics on Facebook, and was reminded–just love.

    • Tim says:

      Those divine reminders to love the people around me are one of the blessings I’ve come to appreciate most, even when the reminder can be quite discomforting.

  3. Tim, based on my online interactions with you, I think that FB result describes you well! But yes, the fruit of the Spirit is so much more important. I appreciate Keri’s words too: “Love grows in us when we receive love from God.” A friend and I were talking today and I said how different our lives could be if we really lived out of that sense of being fully loved, as we are, without having to prove, or strive, or score points. I guess we have to remember it’s the FRUIT of the Spirit, and fruit grows; it’s a process. It’s not something we can just create in ourselves by working harder.

Talk to me (or don't)

