My New Year’s Resolution Hasn’t Changed in 2000 Years

Despite yesterday’s post advising against New Year’s resolutions, here’s one that is always appropriate:

For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. (1 Cor. 2:2.)

For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. (1 Cor. 2:2.)

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My New Year’s Resolution Hasn’t Changed in 2000 Years

  1. I love this verse. I love how it reminds us that the focus of our faith is on Jesus and His sacrifice. That is the most important thing.

  2. Perfect reminder to begin the new year! Thank you!

  3. Who am I to Tell Them?
    By Robert Winkler Burke
    Book #3 of In That Day Teachings
    Copyright 9/26/08 http://www.inthatdayteachings.com

    [Edited for brevity – Tim.]

  4. Made me think of this:

    I am resolved no longer to linger,
    Charmed by the world’s delight,
    Things that are higher, things that are nobler,
    These have allured my sight.
    Refrain:
    I will hasten to Him,
    Hasten so glad and free;
    Jesus, greatest, highest,
    I will come to Thee.

    I suppose this is more of a prayer than a statement for many of us on many days; at least, it is for myself.

Talk to me (or don't)

