Righteousness without a Clean Conscience 

… not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ – the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith. (Philippians 3:9.)

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Righteousness without a Clean Conscience 

  1. I’ve mixed feelings on this one. Calvinism draws very heavily on the medieval Catholic we are miserable sinners. 2Pet 1:9 say if we are not growing in faith, virtue, knowledge, love ect., we have forgotten that we were cleansed from our former sins.
    Yet Hebrews tells us that a consciousness of sins is a sign of an imperfect sacrifice. Heb 10:1 “For since the law has but a shadow of the good things to come instead of the true form of these realities, it can never, by the same sacrifices that are continually offered every year, make perfect those who draw near. 2 Otherwise, would they not have ceased to be offered, since the worshipers, having once been cleansed, would no longer have any consciousness of sins?”
    I haven’t forgotten all the Christ has done in my life and how I have been forgiven and accepted. And the Holy Spirit still points out areas in my life that need to be dealt with. But I walk with God day by day as a son accepted and beloved.

    • Tim says:

      Exactly, Darach. This is about how with the people around me I’ve got things to work on but with God Christ has worked for me completely.

  2. Where masculine and feminine end is, as you’re aware, Tim, isn’t always cut and dried, but simplistically a take-home message from an article I once read (which I may be able to relocate) was that men, in general, are stronger and more capable than often many of the messages they’ve received. Then there’s the notion that, in a male-dominated society, the nature of sin is different for male and female. I sense that can be true. I agree – Thanks Jesus !

  3. For your grammatical pleasure, eliminate the ‘ís”before ‘ás you are aware”.

Talk to me (or don't)

