God Can Overcome Your Best Efforts

power-in-weakness

Picture source – Wikipedia

Christ’s power is made perfect in my weakness, not in my best effort.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:9-10.)

This doesn’t mean I can get away with never making an effort. The Bible is clear that there is much for God’s people to do.

But our efforts are not where God’s strength is perfected – that is, where it is brought to full completion in our lives. By his grace the strength he brings is found in our weakness. This truly is a gift of grace because there are times I’m not really putting in my best effort. That’s part of my weakness, too.

I am glad God is not looking for me to muster up my best efforts before he accomplishes things through me but uses my weaknesses – including my weak efforts – to accomplish his perfect purposes. In fact, sometimes my best of efforts get in the way.

Yes, I hope to keep trying my best for him. But I put even more hope in his grace to bring his strength through every weakness in me to accomplish his purposes.

***

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to God Can Overcome Your Best Efforts

  1. That reminds me of “God helps those who help themselves” (which some seem to think is in the Bible). As if God’s waiting till we get it together — or at least TRY! — before helping us.

    • Tim says:

      I am so glad his actions in, through and for me don’t depend on me getting my act together, Jeannie.

    • Ruth says:

      Oh so true Jeannie. I am very glad God isn’t waiting for me to do that! Just been told my panic and anxiety meds are being more restricted than ever then taken off the market….so God will be there for me I know!
      We have ASD and ADHD and anxiety, genetic and generational to the eyeballs in our family; let the fun begin.
      Praise for His help even before we know we need it. 👏🏻🙏

  2. Tomidjah says:

    I agree with grace as the way, cause we’re all under grace, but why when we want to help we’re condemned for not accepting grace. Pride is the thorn that accepts the grace… I agreed with that phrase that came from my Mom over and over again. “God helps those who help themselves”, I would rather her do it, and accept the grace.
    I think God is the parent, that is getting tired of the unappreciative recognition of God’s graces. We all need graces… we breathe the air, our blood pumps through our hearts…we need to appreciate that first, before we seek more grace. Grace should be our teacher, rather than a data bank that we access, when we’re short on funds, or like a drug that makes us feel good.
    I think I tried my best in this response, and that is my weakness… I pour my heart out on my sleeve. Grace is good, but it can abused too.

Talk to me (or don't)

